Fiction logo

162 Man of Her Dreams

For Monday, June 10, Day 162 of the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 14 days ago Updated 13 days ago 2 min read
Too good to be true.

He was everything she wanted--handsome, sexy, witty, kind, and considerate. He put her first in everything. He was a generous lover.

Although there hadn't been an official ceremony, in her mind they were a happily married couple.

In hard times, their love was so strong that they managed through. It was an all-in partnership, a "tenants-by-entirety" relationship. It perservered and kept them afloat--financially and emotionally.

One morning, however, she awoke, cross with him. She was terse and cold. He searched for what might have happened to so distance them but was clueless. He searched for anything he might have done.

"I'm sorry," she finally said. "I just had a bad night. A terrible dream."

"Would you like to talk about it?" he asked.

"I don't know. What do mental health experts say? Ignore it? Discuss it?"

"Well," he replied, "I think any introspective explorations, especially about things that are troubling, only help."

"Sure...sure, I see that," she agreed. "You were in my dream," she began. "You left me for another woman. A woman with children."

"Right there!" he laughed. "That's not me."

"Right," she agreed.

"Was she hot, though?" he joked. She shoved him playfully.

Hot? she asked herself. Yes, she was! This was the outrage by which she fell asleep that night. Next morning, she was more than cross; she was personally hostile.

"You didn't kiss me good morning, love," he complained.

"That's right."

"Uh-oh," he said. "What'd you dream about me this time? What'd I do?" She wouldn't respond.

Morning after morning she became more belligerent.

"We should go see someone," he finally suggested.

"With you? I don't think so. Now you're beating me every night. You lock me in closets. You've assaulted me!"

"Wow," he sighed. Then, in exasperation, "They're dreams! Put this into perspective, my love. It's not me. We need counseling. Y'know, like the mental health experts say."

"No!" she said. "We're not salvageable! I don't want you. I deserve better. I'm pretty and young, still."

"But I love you. You won't find someone who loves you more!"

"Oh, but I can. I will. It's easy. I dreamt you up, didn't I? I can just as easily dream up someone else."

_______

AUTHOR'S NOTES:

For Monday, June 10, Day 162 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

366 WORDS (without A/N)

Title-accompaniment photo was AI-generated (Artificial Insomnia), but the somnambulation was not.

ABOUT THIS STORY:

The closer we achieve, in a partner, someone like ourselves, the less likely it will work out.

This is a truncated version (to meet the 366 word limit of the Challenge) of the story of the same name I submitted to the 3:00 AM Challenge currently ongoing, at https://vocal.media/fiction/man-of-her-dreams.

---

There are currently three surviving Vocal writers still participating in the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge:

• L.C. Schäfer, challenge originator

• Rachel Deeming

• Gerard DiLeo (some other guy)

Read them. Support them. And watch them dream up tomorrow's stories for you tonight.

SeriesPsychologicalMicrofiction

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • L.C. Schäfer11 days ago

    Oh that twist!

  • Oh wow, I didn't think that he was a figment of her dreams as well. Loved this!

  • Dana Crandell13 days ago

    Really great twist, and your ABOUT line is spot-on!

  • Well done on your story.

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.