Fiction logo

100 Last Hundred Words

For Tuesday, April 9: Day 100 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 22 days ago Updated 22 days ago 2 min read
5
100-word Jenga tower: choose your words carefully!

What would be your message if you had only 100 words left? Or two?

Freedom of speech had finally worn out its welcome; a finite number of words, allowed each person in their lifetime, was legislated.

Still free to speak--but under such constraints--everyone weighed their words. No rallying demagoguery; no calls to arms; and--certainly--no wasteful hate speech. Citizens would have to say what they meant and mean what they said--economically.

Our nation became a quieter, kinder place.

Leo was elderly when this legislation passed, so he was scrupulous with his fewer words allotted. When diagnosed, however, he wasted many on bitter swearing.

Reduced to a resentful cripple, deteriorating into word-wasting complaining, his Articulometer's warning light turned from green to yellow.

Nurse Edie, witnessing his indignities, knew yellow meant only a hundred words left. Going red meant Leo's grumbling--and Leo--would stop. It's separate battery would deliver arrhythmias along implanted lines to his heart.

Edie told him he'd either die saying his last words or his last words would kill him.

"What's the difference!" Leo screamed.

"Leo," she pleaded, "now you've only 97 left."

"Guess I better mean what I say and say what I mean, then," he scoffed.

"Oh my, only 84 left!"

Leo smiled mischievously. "I only need two."

"Don't think I don't know what two words."

"You sure know me, Edie. It's amazing the statement just those two words can make. About my life, cancer, plans. How many words now?"

"57," she reported.

"It all comes down to that."

"What does? Wait, don't answer!"

"To sum up my mind, revelations, accomplishments--my life--my final parting message to this goddamn world." And, with that epiphany of wisdom that only comes from impending death, he said the following:

"Now I realize that everything in life is both important and unimportant--simultaneously--the little decisions and huge life choices." He paused, then asked, "How many are left now?"

"Only ten."

"Only ten," he chuckled.

"Only eight."

"And finally, for my last two..."

"Oh, no," Edie gasped. The Articulometer flashed it's two-words-left warning. He looked at her and smiled.

He simply said, "Thank you." He closed his eyes knowing these two words were an excellent second choice to the two he had originally planned.

It may only come down to (with) two!

____________________

Author's Note:

THIS SUBMISSION: 366 W0rd.

I couldn't let my 100th Story-of-the-Day go by without a story centered on that number. Words (not including Note): 368. Yes, I know I'm two words over the 366-word limit, but isn't that really what this submission was all about?

For Tuesday, April 9: Day #100 of the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge.

All pictures are AI-generated, but my last words won't be!

There are currenly three Vocal creators still participating in the Story-a-Day Challenge:

  • Gerard DiLeo (myself)
  • L.C. Schäfer, challenge originator
  • Rachel Deeming

PLEASE SUPPORT THEM BY READING THEIR DAILY SUBMISSIONS.

PsychologicalSeriesMicrofiction
5

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned Catholic church in Hull, MA. Phase I: was New Orleans (and everything that entails).

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran21 days ago

    Gosh this was so fast-paced, suspenseful and intense! Congratulations on 100 stories! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Well-wrought! I would have saved three words, personally.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.