Families logo

Yes Day - A Netflix Movie Review

Filled with a lot of laughs, 'Yes Day' is a fun and heartwarming adventure.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Yes Day is on Saturday! I wonder what we can talk Mom and Dad into saying yes to?

Released to Netflix, Yes Day is a 2021 film. Parents of three children are challenged to having a ‘Yes Day.’ Being parents who usually say no, this day proves to be a tough one. What crazy adventures will their children get away with on this whirlwind fun adventure?

I went back and forth on whether I should watch Yes Day or not. Noticing the mixed reviews I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it. I am glad that I gave it a chance. Yes Day is a humorous film that is meant for family audiences. Filled with a lot of laughs, Yes Day is a fun and heartwarming adventure.

Jennifer Garner, Edgar Ramirez, Jenna Ortega, Julian Lerner, and Everly Carganilla had fun eating mountain loads of ice cream, going on crazy adventures doing what they want but also learning a meaningful lesson. I enjoyed their interactions with one another. Their dynamic is one of the most essential parts of the film.

I love how Jennifer Garner has fun no matter what she does. That is my favorite trait about her. I felt like Carlos (Ramirez) disappeared halfway into the story. The film starts with the loving dynamic between Allison and Carlos, but it is not expanded on enough.

Each child actor was given a fair share of screen-time. Carganilla was adorable in her scenes. To me, it seemed like writers were struggling with ideas for Nandos’ character. No matter how old you are, a child always needs their parents. Katie’s segment is one of the most crucial parts for teenagers who are going through a difficult transition.

Other credits to include are Tracie Thoms, Nat Faxon, Arturo Castro, Megan Stott, Wolf Fleetwood Ross, and a whole ensemble to cheer on the Torress family in their challenges. Arguably Yes Day is more about the dynamic between the Torres family than ensemble members. Though certain bystanders’ main goal is to challenge one another.

Writers had a fun time working on ideas for this film. There are several ‘Yes Day’ scenarios to work with. My favorite sequence was the family eating tons of ice cream. I got a kick at how the kids made their parents dress up as superheroes for this day.

Most audiences had mixed reviews, disliking the film because it was for kids. That’s the whole point! It’s a film that’s geared towards parents and kids. It’s a kid’s movie. I agree that it contained some moments of filler, especially towards the end. My point is that I had fun watching Yes Day.

I like how Miguel Arteta focused on family dynamics. It is a simple story with a decent message. Predictable at times, I believe that all children will have fun watching the film. I was not expecting one heartfelt scene towards the end which spoke to me. Arteta and the writers did a good job making it a film that all audiences can relate to.

Families should experiment with a ‘Yes Day.’ Spending time together as a family is one of the most important things in the world. Our lives get busy. Plan out a day to get together, do a fun activity, and talk. If you ever have a ‘yes day’ make sure that you don’t do anything dangerous.

Give Yes Day a chance. It is endearing and it was also wholesome. For a movie night, get the family together and watch it. I’m sure that it will make you laugh with all the crazy adventures the family takes.

movie review
2

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.