Families logo

Winter sadness

Unsung Hero

By Kevin Wesley GoodsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
4
Winter sadness
Photo by NOAA on Unsplash

Many years ago, I can remember when I was about 10 years old. My friends Jimmy, James, Kenny, and I would go fishing in the early mornings at our community pond. All of us would dig for worms the night before. We dug them up using an old bucket and a small rusty shovel and flashlight, except Jimmy, who hated worms. He would catch or find dead flies on his bedroom window sill. Although we all could swim, especially Jimmy, he was on the swimming team. But we never swam in the pond, because they had a sign posted that said "NO SWIMMING". 

So every day in the summer we would all go fishing and catch a few fish for fun, and get back home in time for dinner. The rule was whoever caught the biggest fish, not the most but the biggest fish would win. But we all knew once we caught our fish at the end of the day we would throw all the fish back in the pond. We thought we would never run out of fish if we made sure we put them back in the pond. 

On many days we would see other men catch these big fish, and they would keep them and eat them for their dinner. I thought that was so sad to see those big fish leave the pond they called home. Since it was a community pond they needed a fishing license, which they all had.  We applied for our licenses too, and we were all proud to have them.

When the summer was over in the winter months we would take our sleds on top of the snowy hill and slide all the way down onto the frozen pond. The sleigh ride was longer when we drifted several feet onto the pond. We all doubled checked to make sure the pond was frozen solid before we all slid down the hill. We all had so much fun walking up that steep snowy hill and sometimes sliding back down because it was too slippery to climb up after a very cold wintery night. I remember the time we had so much fun when we tried to make it to the very top of the hill before we came tumbling down the icy hill. All of us were very close friends, Kenny, James, and especially Jimmy, I seemed to be closer to Jimmy. He was one year older than the rest of us, so we felt he was like the older and wiser brother we all wished we had. All of us had sisters but no brothers to look up to. As the years went by we were all growing up pretty fast, thinking about girls and all. We were about fifteen and Jimmy was turning sixteen. We were all thinking about going to college and thought about what we wanted to do when we got older. Jimmy wanted to be a firefighter, he always wants to help somebody.  I remember he got a cat out of a neighbors tree one day. He had such a big smile on his face. Kenny wanted to be a Dentist, I guess because his father was a dentist. James and I wanted to become teachers, we both had some awesome teachers, we wanted to be just like them, helping others and making a difference in someone's life.

As we got older Kenny and James didn't go fishing as much as Jimmy and I did. They were more interested in girls and kissing. So Jimmy and I would go fishing just the two of us. But when the winter came all four of us were still ready to go down that steep hill. It was like a rush with the cold wind in your face it seemed magical flying down that hill with such great speed. We all had separate sleds but we were all pretty fast going down that hill. We took turns going down the hill, we went two at a time racing down the hill.

One sunny day we were all out there with our sleds, it was a beautiful day but a little warmer than usual. We all made it to the top of the hill with ease. When we got to the top we remembered nobody checked the frozen pond to make sure the ice was solid. We always checked the frozen pond with a big stick making sure the ice was good and thick. We are all standing on top of the hill and nobody wanted to walk all the way down the steep hill. So Jimmy said, "I'll check it first. Remember I am the better swimmer". We thought we should all walk down and check the pond together but Jimmy insisted on going down with his sled. Kenny, James, and I agreed that Jimmy was a better swimmer. Jimmy sets up his sled and lines straight for the frozen pond. We all stand back watching Jimmy lay flat on his belly with his big boots, wool gloves, and winter hat. Jimmy pushes off with his hands with great speed down the hill faster than ever before. We are all cheering Jimmy on as he moves down the hill faster and faster. Jimmy slides on down onto the pond but keeps on going further than we had ever gone before. He slides right in the middle of the pond and disappears from sight. Jimmy fell through the ice as we all stood there in shock.  Kenny, James, and I try to run down the steep hill but we all fall and start sliding down instead. As we tumbled down the hill I could see the top of Jimmy's head peeking through the ice. I tried to get my balance and I fall again, as Kenny and James slide down onto the ice and stop at the edge. I finally fall in behind them. The thin ice is broken thirty feet between us and Jimmy. Kenny goes running to get help while James I look for a branch or something that could reach Jimmy. We call out to Jimmy and told him Kenny went to get some help and to hang on. We could hear the water splashing about and I could still see Jimmy's hat on his head. I couldn't wait any longer and see my friend die in the frozen pond so I jumped in the icy water and swam towards Jimmy. The icy water felt like tinny needles hitting my body. I tried to call out to Jimmy, but nothing. I was getting tired and weaker I couldn't find Jimmy. I was drowning too, I  couldn't swim anymore. I heard a splash behind me it was James coming to save me. But I wanted to find Jimmy but he was gone. James managed to pull me out of the icy water as I looked over the pond for Jimmy. As I laid there freezing  I can hear the fire trucks coming closer and the police sirens blowing from the distance. I was shaking so hard my teeth were rattling in my head. I knew right then after all the splashes in the pond ended that Jimmy was gone. The police are here now along with several fire trucks along with Jimmy's parents. Kenny and James with tears in their eyes look at me with a smile as they look away with sadness. My mom and dad sat with me in the ambulance as they rush me to the nearest hospital.

Several days pass as I get dressed in a suit and tie for Jimmy's funeral. I realized now, Jimmy saved our lives because we all could have drowned that day if Jimmy didn't test the frozen pond. Jimmy got his wish to save people that day and that's what he did. Thank you, Jimmy, I'll miss you, and thank you James and Kenny for saving me.

THE END

humanity
4

About the Creator

Kevin Wesley Goodson

2021 International Animation: Best Screenplay Short Animated Film "The Adventures of Kalina Starr"

2021 Quarter-Finalist: Atlanta Screenplay Awards! "IN 10 DAYS"

2022 Quarter Finalist: The Table Read My Screenplay “IN 10 DAYS”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.