Families logo

Winter

My own words

By Jennifer Christine ClarkPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Winter
Photo by Adam Chang on Unsplash

In a small town of Culpeper in the year of 1980. Everyone enjoyed winter. Everyone but me, that it is. While children were building snowmen and having snowball fights, and teenagers and couples ice skated and went sledding. I would sit in my chair by the window with my cup of hot chocolate, while my dog Curley and my cat Jelly Bean rested on the rug in front of the fireplace.

Before I go any further, let me introduce myself. My name is Hadassah. I am a mother and grandmother. Writing has been my life long career. I am a best selling author of romance, suspense, and drama. see the snow But I won't talk much about me. As I look out my window, I see the snow as it glistens in the sun. There are trees atherwhich are covered in snow and ice. Some areas of the ground are pure white. So beautiful, before sleds, boots, and snow mobiles.

As I listen to my radio, the weather man predicts snow in the later part of the day. It is 10 am, love to watch so around 3 pm the snow should start to fall. I love to watch the snow fall. My family and I sit by the fireplace with our cups of hot chocolate. We all take turns telling stories and playing board games. After hours of fun inside, the children wanted to go outside in the snow. They put on their coats, hats, scarves, boots, mittens and head out to play. I walk over to chair by the window and watch with delight as my grandchildren make snow angels and playing snow games they create. Hearing their laughter brings me such joy. So much was happening outside, so much fun and laughter.

As I sit here and watch all the activities outside, I think how pretty it is as the snow blankets the earth. Everyone, including family pets are out having fun. I am staying by my fireplace in the warmth of my home, as the cold doesn't agree with me. Wrapped in my blanket, I watch as the snow falls to the ground in the reminiscence of my thoughts of when my children were young and how much fun we used to have in the snow every winter. We would have snowball fights. Other times, we would build snowmen and create snow angels. Those days were so much fun. Now the children are all grownup and making memories with their children.

As the sun starts to set and the people and their pets start to go back to their homes, I rise to the kitchen to prepare cups of hot chocolate, chili and cornbread for dinner. I walk to the closet for towels for the boots and blankets for wrapping cold shivering bodies. As each person enters, I help with the removal of their outerwear. They took of their wet clothes and put on dry ones. Then they went into the living room by the fireplace and wrapped up in a blanket.

Once I was done in the kitchen, we all had our bowls of chili, pieces of cornbread, and cups of hot chocolate. While enjoying the warmth of the room, we discussed the day and how much fun everyone had. Seeing them happy brings me so much joy and happiness. Sometimes, we need something to outweigh whatever situation comes out way to bring us down. Just by bonding with the people we love and experiencing the happiness they have at that particular time, may be what it takes. So as we get ready to end the night, we are thankful for our family. Goodnight everyone.

By: Jennifer Clark

immediate family
2

About the Creator

Jennifer Christine Clark

I am a mother, and grandmother. I enjoy writing and also technology. I have been writing since I was a teenager. I just got certified for CompTIA Fundamentals. I enjoy sending time with family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.