Families logo

When You Have Lost That Special Christmas Spirit

Feeling overwhelmed, stressed, or even sad I totally understand

By El Pablo 1xPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4
Feeling Sad during the holidays is not something that isn't common. photo credit: iStock by Getty Images by

You're familiar with the sensation. That sigh as you snuggle on the couch with a Hallmark movie, the sparkle over all the activities, that small jump in your tummy at a fantastic light show, that sigh as you snuggle on the couch with a Hallmark movie That Christmassy feeling.

What if you're unable to locate it?

The Christmas spirit can vanish for a variety of causes, including loss, separation, betrayal, grief, and health issues. But, for whatever reason, you're more like the Grinch this year than Cindy Lou Who.

It's perfectly acceptable. This year, I'm very sure my heart is two sizes too small, so I'm blogging about it. I'm not going to pretend to be a kid for the sake of my kids this Christmas, but I'm taking small steps to nourish my inner child (who really does adore everything about Christmas and the overall holidays in general.)

In October, Walmart

I understand. I huffed and rolled my eyes as well. But then I decided to just stroll through my local Wal-garden Mart's department as they set up the Christmas shop. It was extremely low-pressure. It wasn't necessary for me to know which light strands needed to be changed. I didn't have to make a decision on new wreaths because I didn't have to. I didn't have to worry about matching wrapping paper and ribbons.

All I had to do was look. I was listening to my three-year-excitement, old's as well as the baby's astonishment and delight. And something warm shivered within my ice-cold soul. Simply look at the holiday decor — you know The Mall has it all, so does Burlington Coat Factory.

Trailers for Holiday Films

Do you ever spend an evening watching trailers on YouTube? Give it a shot if you haven't already. I noticed a Facebook ad for a new Christmas movie that had everything - love story, humor, snow...again, I didn't have to be prepared to watch the entire thing. "You know, I could watch it and feel Christmas-y," I thought as I sampled it.

Gifts should be simple.

The lists and name drawings expand as the families do. I enjoy giving gifts and planning something unique... If my heart isn't in it, however, it doesn't matter whether it's an Amazon gift card or a handcrafted treasure. I don't want to give in that way.

We used a website to keep track of the names we were drawing this year because we pared down the list of names we were drawing. There are a variety of games to help with this, such as Draw Names and Sneaky Santa, whether it's with family or coworkers.

Front-Loading

What do you need to feel at ease in a group of extended family members? What are some of the rituals that you or your children need to maintain in order to feel good? Is it necessary to set aside enough time to sleep? Do you need an extra counseling session, or should you be brave and start therapy? Do you need to talk to someone right now in order to avoid a fight under the tree?

Looking forward and establishing a plan, especially with my partner, alleviates a lot of the anxiety that I believe is suffocating my holiday spirit.

Always nice to take a relaxing ride light- seeing! Simple activity yet fun. Photo credit: Viator.com

Choose a Christmas activity that you will enjoy.

I don't always need a lot of things to look forward to. Make a decision about what you actually want to do during the holidays. Is it a concert, a movie, or a romantic evening? Before the end of the year, I want to have an overnight girls' night with my childhood bestie! Having something special on the calendar for myself makes this Enneagram 2 feel a lot better about ruining everyone else's Christmas.

It's fine if my Christmas enthusiasm doesn't entirely return this year. Along with that Christmas fudge, it's a year to offer ourselves some grace.

Do you have a hard time getting into the holiday spirit? You're not the only one who feels this way! Feel free to reach out to me, I am here for you! MERRY CHRISTMAS, and Happy holidays for the #blacksheepkid himself. I love you

By: Ladarius "El Pablo 1x" Trotter

humanity
4

About the Creator

El Pablo 1x

Independent artist, song writer, and producer born in West Memphis, AR, raised in Milwaukee, WI, I'm culturally rounded. Google me @El Pablo1x and find me on all your favorite platform

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Robert W Phillips10 months ago

    Very moving piece. El Pablo's heart is in the right place.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.