Families logo

What Makes a Good Mom Friend

How to Be That Friend

By Katie LarsenPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
With our big broad of kids, my sister and I need the best mom friends.

I recently called my sister to inform her that my 13-year-old daughter may have to live with me forever. She had managed to forget her lunch for the second time that week and it was only Wednesday. My sister proceeded to go down the proverbial rabbit hole with me. I decided that my precious angel would need me forever because obviously her 15-year-older self will forget to feed her own children, heck, she may even forget she has children and leave them places. Because let’s face it, a few forgotten lunches ultimately means she is destined for failure in life. For the next 15 minutes my sister was able to successfully remind me that I have time for my 13-year-old to grow into a responsible adult. She isn’t planning on moving out for a few more years and I have many weeks to work on her being able to see that brightly colored lunch box sitting on the end of our island as she walks by it to open the front door. She was optimistic enough to even propose that this young lady may, in fact, be able to pack her own lunch before she successfully zips it into her backpack. This may be a stretch in my mind as of this moment but I appreciate the faith she has in this forgetful child.

These conversations happen on a regular basis between us. We trade off listening to the other rant and rave over the mundane aspects of motherhood to the scary serious that keeps us up at night. Every mom needs at least one of these relationships. A person that sees you behind the perfect appearance. The person who knows where you hide all the clutter, the drawer that has no purpose or organization. The one you call when you wore your shirt on backwards or wore two different shoes to work. The reality is life is more fun when you can be 100 percent real. So many times us moms think we need to have it all wrapped in a perfect bow, but, come on, we all need that friend who we call from a locked closet while our kids are pounding on the other side of the door. We long for that person we can go to when all seems to be falling apart and know that there is no judgement. The cheerleader that we excitedly tell our new marvelous plan to eliminate all sibling rivalry until the end of time and they wholeheartedly believe this may actually work. Then they are all in again when we abandon that plan for a new one a nanosecond later. The girlfriend that cries with you when you navigate through the internet, social media or youtube scares and failures.

I had been a part of a bible study group of older women. I loved that group for many reasons but the most important reason was their love and acceptance. They didn't judge when others discussed life situations. They weren't rattled when these moms mentioned their children’s divorce or addictions. They didn't look at the mom as a failure. They nodded in understanding, shared similar experiences and ultimately showed love. When did this change? When did we start judging moms for picking a different school or not putting their kids in every activity known to man? We need to go back to the times when moms were not judged for every decision, instead we can support each other through them. May we all make a pact to find those friends and be those friends. Let us decide that this is what will make moms into better mothers, wives, friends, and ultimately better people.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Katie Larsen

I am a mom of 3 little girls. I love to read and write. I will read any book from non-fiction to young adult. Writing is my favorite outlet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.