Families logo

What is the different between Fear and Excitement ?

Fear & Excitement

By Amjad Ateih DibPublished 11 months ago 10 min read
1

you know I've heard a lot of experts say

that fear isn't real that is such a

bunch of baloney fear is so real in fact

there are probably things that you're

afraid of doing right now in your life

in your relationships at work and the

fact that you're afraid that's robbing

you of all of the experiences that you

want to have in your life I mean if

you're afraid to fly that's going to

limit your ability to travel and see the

world or go visit friends if you're

afraid of public speaking that's going

to really limit your ability to express

yourself and share your ideas if you're

afraid of talking to your boss or asking

for a raise that directly impacts how

much money you make or what if you are

dreaming of starting a business or

you've already started a new business

but you're afraid to talk to people and

you're afraid to share your business

with people I mean fear is something

that stops us all and that's why I'm

here to talk to you because it doesn't

have to fear is real but I am going to

share a secret weapon that I have used

for years to beat every single fear that

used to stop me now first before we get

into the secret weapon I just want to

cover a few facts about fear what it is

what it isn't and some things that you

may not know about fear so first thing

fear is a physical state in your body

that is exactly the same as excitement

let me say that again fear and

excitement are the exact same physical

state your heart races you might sweat a

little bit

you might feel tightening in your chest

you might feel a pit in your stomach you

have a surge of cortisol it's basically

the way that your body goes into a hyper

aware state because it's reading for

action now what's the difference between

fear and excitement really simple the

only difference between fear and

excitement is what your brain is doing

as your body is all agitated if you're

excited your

rains going oh wow this is going to be

so cool to ride this roller coaster if

you're afraid your brain is going up

throughout no way there's no way I'm

doing that this is dangerous get out of

there don't do that it's saying

something different so what's critical

about understanding this is that we're

going to use the fact that your mind is

either working for you for excitement or

against you with fear to your advantage

I'll tell you about it in just a minute

how you're going to do that second thing

I want you to understand is that you may

have heard the advice feel the fear and

do it anyway you may have heard the

advice oh just try to calm down

think positive thoughts it doesn't work

does it and there's a reason why it

doesn't work let's go back to fact

number one when you're afraid your

body's in a state of arousal and

agitation its heart is racing and you're

all like amped up and you're hyper aware

of what's going on and you're freaking

out a little bit what is it like when

you're calm you just kind of chill right

you got like this loo arousal state very

very difficult to go from a state of

agitation of being all jacked up and

excited and weirded out look to a kind

of state it doesn't work it's like

trying to stop a train by throwing a

boulder on the tracks it's going to make

the Train jump off the tracks it's going

to cause a disaster in fact they've

proven in research that when you try to

ignore your fears it actually makes them

worse they've also proven in research

the positive thinking alone also can

make your fears work worse so what do

you do what do you do when you're about

to go talk to your boss and you feel

afraid what do you do when you have to

get on a plane and you're actually

terrified of flying what do you do if

you've got to give a presentation and

you are afraid of public speaking here's

what you're going to do you're going to

use a strategy the same one that I use

that has helped me beat every single

fear and turn me into somebody that is

terrific when it comes to a high-stress

situation this is how you do it you're

going to use my five-second rule in

combination with what I call an anchor

thought and that is going to reframe

what your mind is doing so that your

mind goes from feeling agitation and

making you afraid to reframing it from

agitation to excitement it works like

magic now I have used this technique for

years literally for years and one of the

ways that I want to introduce you to it

is I want to take you backstage I want

to take you backstage to a speech that I

delivered this year and what you're

going to see is you're going to see me

behind you know the major set I'm about

to walk out you can kind of hear the

crowd roaring my introductory video is

playing my body is in a state of arousal

I am literally my heart is racing my

arms are sweating like it's like you're

going to see this I'm going to tell you

about it and you're going to watch me

use this same technique I'm going to

teach you to reframe my nerves into

excitement check this out all right I'm

about to go on stage they're 7,000

people out there and it's so exciting

because of what they don't know if

they're about to learn the five-second

rule and your lives will never be the

same again

now I got to tell you my heart is racing

my armpits are sweating I have the exact

same physiological feeling as when I'm

afraid but I'm not afraid I'm excited

excitement and fear is the exact same

thing in your body it's just what your

brain calls it here's a trick it's

proven by science that I use every time

I speak when I start to sweat when I

start to have butterflies when I start

to have my heart race I say I'm excited

I'm excited to get out there I'm excited

to talk because I'm excited the share of

the five-second rule and what that does

is it sends a message to my brain that

tells my brain why my body's all

agitated and excited and that way I

don't feel afraid

remember excitement and fear exact same

thing in your body the only difference

is what your brain cause you're good now

I want to give you one more example just

to make sure that you really get how you

can use this so a lot of you have

written to me about your fear of fly and

I can really relate to that fear because

I used to have the exact same fear but I

used this same strategy to conquer it

here's how you're going to do it so

first things first if you've got to do

something that really makes you nervous

or that you're afraid to do before

you're about to do it come up with an

anchor thought what's an anchor thought

when anchor thought is something that's

going to anchor you so that you don't

escalate any situation into a full-blown

panic attack or into a situation where

you screw things up it's a way for you

to anchor yourself you maintain control

over what you're thinking and how you

behave so here's an example of flying

it's important when you're creating an

anchor thought to pick something that is

in the proper context of what you're

afraid to do so for flying pick an

anchor thought that has to do with the

trip that you're taking so if I'm

boarding a plane to fly back home to

Michigan an anchor thought might be a

picture in my mind of my mom and I

walking on the shores of Lake Michigan

where I grew up that's a thought that

makes me happy it makes me excited and

it's also related to the trip that I'm

taking if you have a conversation that

you need to have with your boss pick an

anchor thought about how you feel after

having that conversation maybe it's you

picking up the phone and calling

somebody that you you love and saying oh

my gosh it went so well or you know you

walking out of the meeting and feeling

like yeah I survived that conversation I

feel pretty good about myself so now

that you have your anchor thought you're

ready to beat the fear how you're going

to do it is this so let's go back to the

example of the plane I'm on the plane

and flying to Michigan we hit turbulence

my body's going to start getting

agitated right I'm starting to get

nervous when Howard starts to race one

of two things can happen I can't

trol how my body might feel but I can

always always control what I'm thinking

about and I can always control how I act

and so can you so when I'm on a plane

and the turbulence hits 5 4 3 2 1

that's step 1 and it's essential and the

reason why using the five-second rule

five-four-three-two-one is essential is

because that is how you switch the gears

in your mind you awaken your prefrontal

cortex and you trigger your brain that

you're now in control of your thoughts

you've interrupted the fear you've

settled your thoughts and now your brain

is ready for that anchor thought so then

what I do after I go 5 4 3 2 1 is I

insert the anchor thought that I've

already come up with before the flight I

start thinking about walking on the

beach and being with my mom and my dad

and I start telling myself I'm so

excited to walk on the shores of Lake

Michigan I'm so excited to see my

parents

now something remarkable is going to

happen in your brain because you've

interrupted the fear and because we've

used the five-second rule to assert

control and awaken your prefrontal

cortex and because you have an image

that can textually make sense to your

brain because you're flying to Michigan

you know your brain does your brain goes

huh that was excited to go to Michigan

because my body is in a state remember

the first fact fear and excitement exact

same thing what's the difference between

fear and excitement what your brain is

saying using the five-second rule in an

anchor saw you can actually switch the

gears in your mind and reframe the

thoughts of fear into thoughts of

excitement and because you have a vision

that makes sense based on what you're

doing your brain buys it you just

tricked your brain now Dana used this

technique she says she's never been so

calm

when she's been flying and Sarah used it

too now Sarah Rosa she was petrified of

flying but utilizing the five-second

rule in 5 4 3 2 1 with an anchor thought

check out this photo of her on a

helicopter tour in Hawaii not only was

the tour amazing but here's what's

really amazing if

fear stops you this will change your

life and for those of you that are

afraid of public speaking check out this

photo of Carol she also had a fear of

public speaking and by using this

technique that I've just explained to

you five-second rule

anchor thought reframe your thoughts

from fear to excitement something

incredible happened she was able to beat

her fear and give a speech to her

nursing colleagues and that was

something that was a life goal and also

something she checked off her bucket

list fear is real you can't control the

feelings that are going to rise up in

your body when you're on a plane or when

you're talking to your boss or when you

see somebody that's attractive and you

you really want to go over and talk to

that person but you can always control

what you think and you can always make a

decision about the actions you're going

to take so the next time you feel afraid

5 4 3 2 1 go to that anchor thought tell

yourself you're excited and that my

friend is the power of how you beat here

in five seconds less .

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Amjad Ateih Dib

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Amjad Ateih Dib is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.