Families logo

What do you see?

What lies beneath the dock?!

By Kiley ThibodeauPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
What lies beneath the dock?!

As I walked down the dock to the end of the peer, I’m reminded of the times we had on this dock as a family. Thru the good and bad my husband and I always walked this dock to talk about our days events, good or bad. Our children grew and thier little feet found thier way down this dock. With fishing nets a tow And fishing poles with laughter. Our memories will never fade on this dock. Thruout the years weve gotten older, spent plenty of birthdays and anniversaries here, sometimes with a smile and other times with fear? Of what may lie ahead in our turmoil of a life we were living Baby on board, a few times while mommy was prepping that day that we meet, walking up and down the dock, for labor to progress! Watching my babies walking down that dock with proud faces that they had a life jacket on and they were with mom and dad! No fear from them until 1 goes in head first tumbling over into the cool ocean, dads mighty hands reach in and grab, what he was searching for his 6 year old kid! Laughter abupts after the fear, as you shake and calm down from the trip! Dad sits there and catches his breath, with a wet child on his chest! Saying I told you so ! Don’t get so close” ! The child that’s studded with every emotion is clinging on to dad for dear life, eyes wide open but a relief that he’s fine. When you look at this dock , what do you see ? I see a lifetime of a family., from first steps, to the catch of the day, to come on kids....... let’s go play. A mom and dad growing with thier family everyday walking these docks night and day, I’ve seen it all on this dock, I’ve cried many tears, of happiness and joy, to tears of hurt and pain, our phones have gone fishing and are now talking to the fishes on the bottom of the sea. Ice skates and slipping where dock is to be? Watching snow fall during a beautiful storm, to a hurricane with waves with force of a punch! To my dock you may see just beauty that lies within the trees, I’ve walked this path many many times preparing for the birth of my child! I love my dock I’ve had some talks , to myself on this dock, and maybe some ufos that I thought ? My hearts been broken on this dock, and it was also healed with some thought! I’ve tried my hardest to keep my family in line, you got to stay on one side, to the sky’s you see a beautiful sunset and warm hearts to watch as it gets dark! To laughing and fun and fishing and sum! I love my dock , I hope someday my great grandchildren will walk on my dock and say , hey ma”me” walked this dock along time ago! Now she watches us, while we grow! My heart will always be on this dock, my fears and dreams will fall into the water 💧 and be gone in a flash! Cause my babies are on my dock for me and Pe”pe” “

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.