Families logo

What About These Kids?

Today I looking to present the case of why our youth are struggling and destined to fail without our immediate attention

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Young EDB

It is easy for me, a kid who was constantly beat up, constantly the ass of everyone’s jokes, constantly the center of attention negatively to sit here and not give two 💩💩 about the times we live in. It is easy for me to be in self isolation, because for the first time in my life, I have be allowed to live in true peace. For the first time in my life, I have not awaken in panic; for the first time in my life, I have not had to mentally prepare myself for battle, No. No. No... My Mornings now are filled with excitement, with a positive outlook, accompanied by anticipation of what I can accomplish today.

At the fear of perception that I am completely dismissing my previous train of thought, I must also share how anxious I now get, now that we are limited to what we can and cannot do. It is like MAN!! All the times I in these streets, depressed, angry, being despondent, wanting, wishing for a moment like this, only to get it, and go Eh!!! Can I go outside now??

SPEAKING OF GOING OUTSIDE? This period of humanity is seemingly, if not certainly struggling with how we deal both during and after COVID-19.

What does our work force look like after COVID-19?

What does our social life look like after COVID-19?

What does our active life look like after COVID-19? AND MOST IMPORTANTLY

What does our educational life look like after COVID-19?

Education is without question the single most important ingredient to developing, maintaining, and advancing a civilized society. Secondary to this idea closely sits the development, and advancement of our youth. These historical moments in time will soon present the case, not only of how Covid-19 has infected and affected some four million families, but it has also rocked the next generation.

I do not need to discuss much about those who did not physically “WALK THAT ISLE” to quote The Nature Boy Ric Flair; because despite there being a lack of support physically, virtual graduations have commenced world wide. I have seen graduations in ways I have, and dare I say never would have imagined seeing before. This year we have seen virtual proms, virtual pep rallies, on and on and on we go; but my focus in this case is directed at those who have struggled long before COVID-19, and dare I say is destined to suffer long after.

My argument here focuses on kids, who suffer from lack of parental support. Girls who transition into womanhood without the proper psychological tools, accompanied by the emotional support required to ensure their success; and most dear to me, our little bros who have to struggle thru manhood in a time period, when the male gender is being severely challenged. It was always a problem for our little bros, to have to navigate without a big bro, or more importantly the man responsible for our existence.

Who would teach us about sports?

Who would teach us how to date girls?

Who would do we talk to when we start skeeting on ourselves?

Who helps us deal when we struggle through horn dog Village?

So this week I hope to present the case, both on the podcast, on the streams, of how crucial the teenage years are. I seek to inform those who are either long removed from the teen years, how they can help us deal. How 2020 teen years are a lot different from their periods, and require a fresh outlook; and to those in the fight, I hope this will help you express yourself. I hope you will after this, have the confidence to approach family members, even mom and dad. And if mom nor dad agrees or is available, that you will be able to confidently, and independently move forward.

See Ya on the Internet

❤️-EDB

children
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.