Families logo

What about moms?

Mom's matter

By Jessique Austin Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
How do you feel moms?

Mom....every single one of us has one. Whether you know her, or don't, she is responsible for bringing you into this world. It is a title that holds great weight and responsibility, and often referred to as the hardest and most important job in the world. Well, I know all this first hand, as I am a mom of three children, oldest daughter 9, and two sons, 8 and 2. I naturally birthed all three of my kids, no drugs, no interventions, nothing, just me and god lol. My journey into motherhood has been hard to say the least, but to be more specific, the hardest thing I've ever taken on. While having children are a blessing and a gift, there's a lot that you can't prepare for and see coming. I am also a single mom, who has had to figure it all out, while trying to stay sane in the process. I have always had big dreams to make it big in the modeling, fashion, beauty etc. world, but once children came along, they all but died. Along came responsibility, isolation, loneliness, depression. It didn't take long after my first born for me to feel like something was off and not like myself, knowing that overwhelming sadness and depression, suicidal thoughts, loss of appetite, and the list goes on, is not normal. There was a talk show that came on one day and the topic was postpartum depression, and a light bulb came on, it felt like they were talking to, and about me!!! I was relieved to know this was actually a thing I was going through, that had a name, and that I wasn't the only one, but was also afraid that it still meant something was wrong with me. I was recommended by a friend at the time who noticed, to see someone and never did, was never diagnosed, and just lived with it, because of shame mostly. I just tried my very best and hardest to manage what I was going through. Even in a relationship I couldn't open up about it all, and just carried on with daily life, responsibilities, taking care of and doing for everyone, but myself, feeling alone, unappreciated, lost, confused, and hopeless. I have learned ways to better cope, and manage, but I still very much struggle, and some things have never quite gone away. I know there are many moms out there who can relate, but may also feel shame, guilt, inadequacy, depression, etc. I have been silent and alone with this for a very long time, and am speaking for those who have suffered silently as well. So I ask what about moms? We matter. We can often be unrecognized, unappreciated, disrespected, overlooked, and unsupported, but we matter and are important. We often do so much, and so much for others, and we ourselves are often forgotten about, even by our own selves. If you read this and can relate, or if anything resonates with you, I just want you to know that you are not alone, you are doing great, and you matter. If you know a mom who is struggling or not themselves, I challenge you to support her, ask questions, and try to be of some assistance to her. We can use more love and kindness in the world, especially in these uncertain times, so I challenge anyone who reads this to spread some out into the universe, especially our moms.

With love, peace, and blessings

Jessique

advice
1

About the Creator

Jessique Austin

Star

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.