Families logo

WEIRD DREAMS AS A YOUNG CHILD

THREE DREAMS THAT HAUNTED ME

By Alvin Rivera Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2

WEIRD DREAMS (As a young child)

I remember three dreams that I repeatedly had as a young child at the age of seven or eight. They were frustrating to me because I do not know why I had them. Maybe I did not have self-confidence as a youngster; these dreams continued to haunt me for a couple of years. Looking back now, they are kind of funny, but as a child, they were very disturbing to me at the time.

DREAM NO. 1- THE SUPERMAN DREAM

Back in the early 1960s, the Superman Show was on TV in black and white, and all the neighborhood kids would watch it weekly. With all the neighborhood friends that came over we would sometimes play Superman in the yard, someone always would get the Superman part, and the one of us would be the villain the rest would be just normal citizens that got attacked by the villain. Superman always saved the day and rescued all of the citizens from the villain so there was always a happy ending. I lived in a small house behind a large house with my family in a poor but well-kept neighborhood. I had a dream frequently that I was Superman, but every time I needed to stop a villain in my dream and needed to fly to the rescue, no matter how hard I tried, I could never get off the ground, would try and try, not even with a running start. I would wake up and think, why can I not fly it’s only a dream. Whenever I had that dream, I had the same results I never flew or got to save the day. That was very frustrating to me as a young child knowing I could never fly like my Superman hero.

DREAM NO. 2 THE MANNEQUIN DREAM

When I went to bed at night, I would have normal dreams to start with, but everything would change at some point in my sleep. I would go up to someone in my dream that I was having, and when I spoke to them, they would begin spinning around and around faster and faster until they became a mannequin. I would panic and run away to find someone else to talk too. When I found someone else that I wanted to tell what was happening again when I started to speak to them, they would start spinning, around and around faster and faster and another mannequin was there. The spinning of people and them turning into mannequins occurred during the whole dream. It was a nightmare for me, a recurring dream that also haunted me.

DREAM NO. 3 THE TEAR IN THE CEILING WALLPAPER

Living in the little old house on the west side of Cleveland, Ohio, I have many great memories of the kids I played with and all the families on the street. At that time, houses had wallpaper everywhere the walls and even the ceilings. My family's house had it on the ceiling in the living room, even though it was painted over in white. In the northeast corner of the small living room, the ceiling had a tear in the wallpaper. The tear was about six inches long and curved almost like a smile. I always had a recurring dream that a hand and wrist would come out of that tear and throw pieces of bread to my brother and me. We would run around the living room, picking up the pieces of bread and eating them. It was a peaceful dream that I remember fondly, and maybe many times, I went to bed hungry, and that was what caused the dream.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Alvin Rivera

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.