Families logo

Wedding time.

Our Wedding day in the winter.

By Terri RosallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Wedding time.
Photo by Євгенія Височина on Unsplash

We everyone asked why do you want a wintertime wedding. We said that there is something some special about a wintertime wedding.

Frist thing is most people don't get married in the winter in because that weather. It might snow. We took our changes and went for it.

The date would be February17th, 1996. was 6 months away at the time. No one thought it could be done. It was going to happened.

I would be on break from school since I was in nursing school. I made up all my work before I got married. I must say that the grades were excellent. I think that I was fueled by the fact that I was getting married and going to Disney World also for honeymoon.

I fell in love in with the first dress that I saw in the wedding shop. That was taken care of.

Next we to find a place place that to have a wedding at. My husband and I were both firefighters. We decide that the since it was winter and would have to be at one place the firehouse. We didn't want to take a chance of it bring snowing that day. We set the date with the firehouse. The firehouse would be out of service there was going to be a wedding that date and most of friend were our firefighter family. Now that is now set. He had his suit and best man ready. As our list got smaller and smaller and all the boxes were being check off. Everything was ready to for wedding day February 17th at 4 pm.

Then the fun began. Who knew that the day before our wedding it would snow. Time to panic. I couldn't believe our luck that it was snowing the night before.

We had our practice for the wedding. The sweet sounds of a snow blower working it heart out for our day. It was a sound that I was glad to here.

It is now the day of our wedding. Yes we both we nerves. The snow had stopped. My dad was outside shoveling the snow and the body language was I can't believe that my daughter is getting married in this mess.

The car service took me for my appointment and they were surprised to see the car pulled up. I got out of the car with veil in hand and the hair and made up was done. Back in the car. I go.

I went home and got dressed and I was ready to go. All the neighbors came out to see me me off to my wedding. This was very special. I couldn't believe that they came out to see me off on my special day. They had all flowers for me also.

My dad and I was set and off we went. We made few stops to people house who could not come and stopped at our favorite place for a quick drink and so they could see what I looked like.

Then it was off to the waiting firetruck as I could be taken to firehouse for the wedding. The fire truck was decorated with wedding stuff. It was so cute.

When we arrived at the firehouse we were 5 minutes early. We had some pictures taken on the truck and outside the truck and the final kiss from my dad and off I went to get married to my husband to be.

It was a special night for everyone and with no snow to be on the ground.

I felt like a queen marring my king.

We have been married for 25 year now. I would not change a thing about that day that I got married.

married
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.