Families logo

Wedding Stress

The first few months

By Michelle SchultzPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I'm getting married! I'm still getting used to saying that. I say it to my fiance about nineteen times a day. It hasn't started driving him nuts... yet. I never really thought I would get married as a kid. I always thought - even growing up, that if I did get married, I would elope in Vegas. So when I realized that I needed to start planning a wedding, I got a little scared. I know there's a lot to it. But I'm a low - stress person. If it causes me stress, I try not to deal with it. Everyone told me, planning my wedding, it was going to be impossible for me to not stress about it. They weren't wrong.

We're not even very far in and I'm already not up for half of this. But I have a good team. My main stress is the number. Our number is 150 - max. So I cut my list down to 71 people - including people bringing guests. My fiancee is not so good at this part. He's still at over 80 people. We're working on it. Our parents are worried about us offending people by not inviting them - I have given up on that. I straight up told my dad to three people he suggested that I have not seen or heard from them in over five years (they probably don't even know I have a kid) they don't need to be at my wedding.

That's my basic rule of thumb right now. If I haven't talked to you in the last year- you're probably not getting an invitation to my wedding. If you're family and you don't know basic things about me, like what I do for a living or what I'm going to school for- you're not getting an invitation to my wedding. And if we're 'friends' and the only time I hear from you is over snap-chat and it's not a conversation it's just a random picture or video of something cool you're doing- you're not getting an invitation to my wedding.

I was feeling bad about my list. I'm not gonna lie. I felt bad cutting down my list (From 126 people, I might add). But when I was making out my list I reached out for help. My dad was not helpful. Just a heads up. He started adding people to my list and telling me how offended they would be if I didn't invite them to my BUDGETED wedding. For a generation that bitches so much about millennial's being offended by things, they sure get offended by a lot of weird things. So I reached out to my maid of honor (my younger sister) and my older sister.

My younger sister is the best. She's logical and also- she's good for that 'I don't give a f***' attitude lifter. That definitely helped me cut down my list. My older sister had the best advice though; "You're going to get so much drama planning a wedding. Just don't worry about it. It can be as drama filled or free as you want."

That hit me. That hit me hard. She gave me basically the same advice about high school and I lost a lot of friends (that I'm glad I lost) taking that advice. It didn't relinquish my stress by any means - but I thought about it. And I flew through my list. I flew through a lot after that. Within twenty-four hours, I had my list, I had my save the dates made and printed, and I ordered paper because I decided that I was going to do the invitations myself. Because in the grand scheme of things- if my invitations aren't perfect, who cares? Probably no one but me. So why not save myself the money? Right?

I remind myself of my sister's advice about six times a week. With the recent Corona virus bullshit I've had a lot more wedding stress- like weather or not we should push it back - I've felt myself saying it a lot more. My fiancee has been amazing through it all. He is standing his ground on keeping our wedding date no matter what. And is very insistent that no one else matters on that day expect me, him, and our daughter.

immediate family
1

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.