Families logo

UNCERTAINTY...

When You LOOK Well Enough to Work, But Are Told You Can't!

By Unlisted&Twisted!Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
"You Smile Through The Pain and Wait For a Call Back!" [Olivia R. Petrus].

It's been nearly a year since I crossed over the border - from the South Suburban Chicagoland Region - to the Northeastern Region of Indiana...

Last year I was granted the opportunity to practice as a Home Health Aide within the region I have always called home... and the license is STILL VALID in the state of Indiana...

Clearly, this is, "DANGEROUS" territory for a, "LOUD", "YOUNG" woman with multiple psychiatric disabilities to lightly tread... but...

FEAR NOT LITTLE GIRL... PROFESSIONALS ARE HERE...

"Oh, Thank God..." [Picture by Olivia R. Petrus].

I'm not here to talk about my taste in music. I won't even SING-SCREAM at the Canadian Geese with Roxy - pictured above... Though they ARE a common enemy of all dog lovers...

A STOCK, PHOTO OF CANADIAN GEESE - A COMMON ENEMY?!?

By Jan-Niclas Aberle on Unsplash

I'm just here to share the stories of hope that inspire others to look out for one another. Slow down and take your time... or else you'll miss those moments to serve and breath...

AN ART MURAL GRACES A LOCAL JIFFY LUBE ON E. BROADWAY AVE. IN INDIANA!

"Whoa. Nice!" [Picture by Olivia R. Petrus].

What I learned from my journeys back and forth from my homeland to here - within a year - from the wise women and men - neighbors both near and far, known and not, diverse and polite, kind or, "STRAIGHT-UP... LOUD!!!" is that you basically SHOULD always treat others with the SAME amount of dignity and respect YOU would WANT, if YOU were caught with YOUR PANTS DOWN by the police... I'm just trying to look, professional... when other people are dealing with MUCH BIGGER issues themselves...

JUST SAYING...

"What?"

For me that meant meticulously creating... then cranking up my preferred, "Go-To" playlist... for when I was, "ALONE..." and, "On-The-Go"... But the real heroes aren't the stupid girl above. The story about the stupid girl walking past the the mural of the artwork is what matters, I guess. It doesn't just grace a Jiffy Lube on Broadway Avenue in Merrillville, Indiana. It was taken across the street by yours truly, from the sidewalk on a sunny-day, at a 24/7 hour Speedway on E. 93rd Ave. and Broadway Ave. in Merrillville, Indiana. That gas station happens to serve the First Responders that work at the Hospital ADJACENT to the mural...

AND THE REAL HERO'S ARE...

"Nice!"

That mural... wherever it came from... to me that morning... it stood as a beautiful symbol of HOPE, INSPIRATION, UNITY and INNOVATION for the Next Generation...

GET A REAL JOB!!!

"Patience, Nitty... It's Not All About Us... Remember?" [Olivia R. Petrus].

advice
1

About the Creator

Unlisted&Twisted!

Welcome Readers! Thank you for checking in! I am a young, mentally ill young woman with a passion for mental health awareness, music, and writing! I hope my stories inspire you. Follow me here or on Instagram @unlistedandtwistedblog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.