Families logo

True love

Forever

By Kyree MuellerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Do you think true love is real? Do you think someone could really stay with someone else forever, through all the bad and scary times? I never thought it could be true until I witnessed it with my own eyes. My grandparents have been married for 50 years. They are the cutest couple you will ever see. Their age doesn’t stop their love. They still take care of each other. They still want to make memories. Recently though we have not been able to go anywhere with them. My grandpa has been in and out of the hospital with pneumonia. That whole time my grandma stood by his side wherever he went and no matter what. As time went on he started to recover after days in the hospital. He finally gets to go home. A few weeks go by and we are starting to plan a small vacation for everyone to go on. My grandmas favorite place, the beach. She was so excited to get out of the house and be with her whole family. A couple years ago my grandma had taken in a stray cat that we had found on the side of the road. He was a very young and sick kitten. Had a bunch of bugs. After we had cleaned him up and gotten rid of his bugs she took him home and called him ki-ki. Like kitty kitty. She felt like she was always alone without a pet. She loved him. But of course, my grandpa was not a fan. Most men never at first. Eventually he came around like everyone else. The kitten didn’t like being indoors so he had to be an outdoor cat mostly. My grandma felt alone yet again. Now she is talking about getting a dog since they are known to get attached to their owners more. Weeks of us all talking and seeing if we should get her one, my uncle finds someone who is giving away chihuahua puppies. Without hesitation, he gets one for her and brings the little puppy home. She loved the little baby and he already loved her. He followed her everywhere. He was one of the tiniest puppies I have ever seen. We are all happy that she is happy again until one night my mom gets a call. You know it’s never good if it is at night. It’s my aunt telling us that my grandma had fallen down her stairs and broke her hip and was unconscious. We found out that her puppy has walked right underneath her and she tripped so she did not step on him. We were all freaking out hoping she was okay. We raced over to the hospital and waited for good news. My grandpa never left her side until he was no longer able to. Hours go by and we finally get the good news. She’s out of surgery. My grandpa rushes to her room and sits right next to her and without hesitation takes her hand and comforts her. Watching them together seeing how much they both cared for each other just hit me so hard. I was in photography class so I thought I could do something sweet with the situation. That’s when I took the first picture of them together. I eventually edited it over the days and it turned out perfect! After she recovered I surprised them both for Mother’s Day with the picture framed of them holding hands. It made her cry which made me cry. I will never forget this picture. It hits me so hard. I hope when I’m married my relationship is just like theirs. They have actually found their own true love, forever.

grandparents
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.