Families logo

Tree Cutters

Prologue

By Gizelle AnnettePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

"Alright, Mother!" I shouted, running into the jungle. Joáo was playing catch with his friends. He wasn't paying attention, reaching for a ball and slipped off a ledge; falling almost to his death. Mother is fraught with fear. Finding the Cordoncillo plant before nightfall was my duty. The blue sky had already begun to blend gold. I was racing time.

I swiped at the thick brush, trudging deeper into the jungle. It had just rained so the earth was still very muddy. The birds sang their evening songs as I crouched around in search of the plant. "I could have sworn it grew right here," I whispered, puzzled. Of course, left and not right at the Brazil Nut tree. You would think it would be easier to remember directions tied to such a ginormous tree. I face-palmed my forehead then backtracked, going the correct way.

Suddenly, there was a loud snap behind me. I came to a stop. That could only mean one thing, Jaguar. I reached for my knife and spun around quick, but strangely, nothing was there. It was just a monkey scurrying by, I thought to myself, or just me being paranoid. I shook my head and continued on my way.

Trudging faster, I tripped over a tree root, losing my balance. I tumbled forward, down and... out of the jungle? Wait, what? I hurried up to my feet. Where did all the trees go? There before me, was an entire landscape, cut, gone. All that remained were the sad stumps of once awe-inspiring trees. The lingering trees surrounding me had large X's engraved intensely into their bark. The stifling feeling of fear enveloped me. Tree Cutters. I needed to get back to the village, it's not safe here. Oh, there is the Cordoncillo! Snap.

For the second time that evening, I spun around fast. This time I came face to face with a filthy man, a tree cutter. He was bald and stout with a burning white twig hanging out his mouth. The man sneered at me, sending shivers down my spine, and took a footstep in my direction.

"Get away from me!" I shouted aiming my knife at his face. He smirked backing away slowly, raising his hands in surrender. The man spoke in a tongue I could not understand. With quickness, he reached back gripping an ax and swung it at me fiercely. I ducked, only missing it by a hair. The bloke lost his balance, sprawling to his side. This was my chance. I clenched my knife and stabbed him deeply in the thigh. He cried out and I made a run for it, but not before grabbing some Cordoncillo.

I ran as fast as my legs would let me. Not once did I stop to catch my breath. Not until I got back to Joáo.

"Amalia!" my mother cried when I reached the hut. "Did you get it?" Joáo writhed and whimpered beside her. I nodded, smacking the plant into her hand. Mother crushed the fresh leaves in a bowl, adding some water. She then applied the paste to all of Joáo's gashes and the bruises to help ease his pain. I couldn't bear to see my brother in this state, so I stepped out for a breath of air.

"Are you okay, Amalia?" I glanced up meeting eyes with Kaua's cocoa ones, which were glowing with concern. I sniffled, wiping my tears away with the back of my hand. "Yes." Kaua frowns. "I'm fine, thank you." With this he sighs, eyeing me sympathetically. "Oh, come here." Kaua drew me into his arms, holding me close. "Your brother will be okay," he said softly. "I promise you, everything will be okay." I nod my head as he tucked a strand of hair behind my ear. "Come on." Kaua strokes my cheek with his thumb and kisses my forehead softly.

"How is your father?" I asked once we are seated crisscrossed by the fire. "Busy, as always, trying to do what is best for our people." I watched as the fire flickered from yellow to orange and back again. "He has gotten tougher on me." I flung a twig into the pit. "Well, he is the Chief of the Awe people." Kaua fiddled with a rock and said, "He always expects perfection out of me." I listened as I traced the lines of his hand. "You're his son; he'll forever expect more from you." "But that's just it, Amalia. Whatever I do, it's never good enough for him." I rest my head on his shoulder. "You're doing great." I grinned encouragingly. "You're going to become a great leader someday." Kaua interlaced his fingers with mine. "You're enough, Kaua," I said bringing his hand to my lips and pressing a kiss to it. "I promise."

The next morning, I'm awoken by the desperate screams of my people. "Tree cutters!" they shouted. "Tree cutters!" I scurried out of my bed. "Mom! What's happening?" I wailed. "The Tree Cutters have returned, Amalia," she declared. "The Cattle Rancher have settled in the west. They want our land. We have to flee, now!" Mother scoops Joáo into her arms and we run, heading east.

"Wait! I-I can't leave. Not without Kaua." I say. Painted on her face was horror. "No, you can not go back." she shook her head. "I'm sorry," I say and spun around. "Amalia!"

The village was an abyss of complete and utter chaos. "Kaua!" I shouted. "Kaua!" A sudden force suddenly gusts around me. I look up and there are air-crafts, none like I'd ever seen, landing. Men came flooding out, taking our people. I was too shaken to move and a large man in black attire forced me against a tree, cuffing my wrists with shiny locks.

The man shoved me inside the structure and tied my locks to a pole. "Amalia?" My head shot toward the voice and I'm immediately overcome by tears. "Kaua," I sob. "What's happening?" His water welted eyes avert from mine. "I-I don't know."

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Gizelle Annette

Hi im seventeen and I really like to write stories :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.