Families logo

To pick a time to go back too.

Oh, wow, there are so many, but really there are none at all.

By Vanessa GreerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Who’s Denilo ? on Unsplash

That’s not being too over confident. I’ve just been pretty satisfied with my life. Now if I could go back in time and win the lottery. We would have a much longer session to talk about cause I'd be rich.

Some people, they’d say what they would change would be their first kiss. Go back and get it from the wrong person then turn around and give it to another person instead.

But I’d leave that stupid kiss all alone, and just go hang out with friends instead.

Kim and Kristi were sisters and my best friends. We would hang out at their house a lot. They lived even further than me out in the country. Those days, were coming-of-our-ages. We were so full of mischief. We were bad. Their dad’s camper, he had outback. I’m glad it can’t talk. Oh, my goodness, we were so bad.

I miss my mother so very much. She died when I was 14years old.

My older brother and sisters were all grown up. So, they got the whole raised by a mother experience that I almost had. For me and my two younger siblings, it was scary. We couldn’t believe she was gone.

Our little lives were changed forever in an instant. If I could go back for a day a minute, or an hour in time, I’d hold on to her and hug her so tightly she would think I was never letting her go. Lay my head under her stroking hands and cry. Tell her all about the grandbabies she would never know. But to change anything would’ve been wrong. We had our time with her. Now it is time to move on.

Sometimes in this life, you time stamp memories in your head. Graduating from college, a marriage, or buying a house. Having a baby or babies are some of my time stamps. When I could hold their little bodies in my arms. Time just didn’t exist. There was quiet here and peaceful. The last of it I’d hear for a while.

It’s so sad but it's true if given the chance to go back to when one of them hurt their selves. I go just so they’d need me again. This time I’d be the mother. I would pull them up in my lap and rub their heads. while they cried in my lap.

Once when my oldest was thirteen he got his middle finger caught in a bicycle’s chain. When it was stuck he just yanked it out. It pulled the meat from his finger and left the bone sticking out and bare. I rushed him to the hospital, called my husband and all he heard was," cut off his(he couldn't hear) we are on our way to the ER". That night when we got back home. It was the last time he cried in my lap. I could feel the pain from his hand.

Or maybe the day of my wedding. We rushed to the courthouse and then. I couldn’t shut up. I was like, “ I do.” Over and over again.

Once before the judge had said, “We are gathered here”, once when it was time for our witnesses to step up, again at his turn to say it, once when he asked for the rings, then finally when it was my turn. I drew a blank. I kind of just got confused.

After the exchanging of our vows, the judge just laughed and then he said.

This is the first one of these I almost had to call out a bride for contempt of court. He smiled and then walked away.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Vanessa Greer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.