Families logo

To Daddy from Chant

Remembering my Daddy

By Ma’at CC 𓁧 Published 3 years ago β€’ Updated 2 years ago β€’ 5 min read
1
Our Last Picture Together

To Daddy From Chant

I remember the times you brought me stuff and took me places!

Mall, Movies, Cook Outs, So many friends & girlfriends houses..Bought me pretty much anything i asked for even if i had to wait a while.

I remember how fly you always were and your beautiful smile of perfect teeth!

I remember you having nice haircuts and sometimes twist! Loved that lil splash of grey and your natural widows peak.

I remember you liking sun glasses/shades & Jewelry and had nice nails!

I remember you not being very tall but taller than me.

I remember your room and your navy blue bedspread with cute little paisley patterns all over and the green 2 seat couch on the left when you come in the room.

I remember the bag of toys crayons coloring books and art stuff hair bows and earrings and other stuff Granny got me in your closet!

I remember you doing anything for granny, cook and take her places! I remember you being nice to me and only yelling at me on a few occasions, I only remember one whoopin from him since i was with my mother most of the year every year.

I remember granny telling me about how you were so good at the saxophone 🎷, i think i remember seeing it in her Barton Village garage before she turned it into another living room.

I remember the vehicles you had:First a Black Jeep, Then a Green Ford Taurus that had Ants in it but i was with him when looked at it & bought and wasn’t no ants in it before, then Granny Burgundy Buick Park Avenue, thats all I remember. I remember Range Rover was your dream car!

I remember the movies we saw! Money Talks & Jerry Springer Pin Ball!

I remember the Pink Barbie Corvette that i was to scared to drive initially because of the unusual loud sound it made! I remember you trying to get me to do it over and over lol..But i wouldnt, thats all i can remember you saying that day of fictional Christmas, so i obviously wasnt having it that day lolz! But i loved it!!

I remember you being a good cook! Fixing the best salads!!

I remember you buying me the v-tech laptop i wanted that was so close to a real laptop and had typing programs and games!

I remember you buying my first desktop computer which was a blue windows computer!

I remember you telling me you and granny got me my first Laptop which was a Compaq.

I remember you taking me to see your friends, mainly Tim Tim!

I remember you taking me to the mall, buying me my first pair of AirMax which wear Navy Grey White Gradient AirMax Plus, in middle school!

I remember when Me U granny Rez and Genelle went to six flags and me and rez had matching Tommy outfits, white shirt and jean shorts!

I remember that when you first got your tattoos of my name and the panther and you showed me and I felt loved! You said my name so smoothly even tho barely no one can.

I remember you giving me a few sips of Budweiser which later became one of my fav beers. Don’t remember my age, but absolutely did not like it then.

I remember you ultimately as a caring dad when you were around, you being so spirited and lively! Kept me safe, made me feel comfortable and made me smile!

I remember you bringing me to someones house on July 4th when I was young and you repeatedly trying to get me to light a small black and white firecracker but i was to scared and didnt! When you lit it/them, they made the smallest pop/explosions!

The last pic we took together was at GreatGranddaddy funeral.

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”

I remember my mama doing most of my raising my whole life! I remember you being there a few days a year. Nothing constant!

I remember you being a ladies man and having lots of girlfriends since i was little! Always having different types of girlfriends through all phases of life.

I remember how I didnt see you that much because you stayed far away from me most of my life. Albany Atlanta Macon,GA.

I remember you getting arrested on Christmas for driving on a suspended license.

I remember people taking about how you having drug problems that i never knew about nor noticed.

I remember you loving your family!!

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”

My Dad died April 10th 2010πŸ’”

I was a junior in college at SC State. I was leaving the cafe with my roommates when i received the news from my mama & since then i’ve had the hugest void. One for myself & my sister, but especially her. I was 21, which means my sister was 10, when you were killed/murdered in Augusta, GA for whatever unknown unsolved reason which was seemingly unimportant to the police & the killer whose grudge was more important than letting you stay apart of your childrens’ lives. All i was told is that you were choked/straggled on Travis Rd and leaned up against a house to be found.

In the Casket, you looked handsome like always but so unfinished wit life! I will never forget you, we had the same face and so does my sister, & we can thank Granddaddy for that!

πŸ’™He used to call me ChantyPooh πŸ’™

Barbie Corvette

Me, GrandDaddy & Sis at Daddy Funeral

πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€

grief
1

About the Creator

Ma’at CC 𓁧

SelfPublished Author Artist Entrepreneurial Expressionist β™‘ βœπŸΎπŸ“š

www.XByCC.com β™‘

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.