Families logo

Those anticipatory months

by Anshuman Kumar

By Anshuman KumarPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Those anticipatory months
Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

I got married in July 2006 to my lovely wife Smita in India. Due to work I had to return to Canada in two weeks. Soon after I applied for Smita’s immigration. I think usually it used to take four or five months for immigration but it ended up being 14 months before Smita could immigrate to Canada.

These 14 months were anticipatory for me; I was waiting for Smita to come to Canada. While those days were good I missed her a lot. I used to call her every day and talk for about 20-25 minutes. Often we would use email as well.

Each day I was looking forward to her arrival to Canada. I never like waiting for anything but this wait was the best in my life. It was an immense exercise in patience. I was very happy to have married this young, wonderful woman. Now, it was a matter of her coming to join me in her new country.

I would hold onto the memories I had with her during two weeks in India when I was there. We had a very nice engagement ceremony which both families and our relatives attended. My father-in-law had taken care of the ceremony very well. I was happy to attend the ceremony.

Then after a few days was the actual wedding ceremony. It was a beautiful wedding. I had a lot of fun in it. At night my wedding procession went to the marriage convention centre where the wedding was to take place. It was great to see my family and relatives so happy and smiling as they walked towards the convention centre. My sister and cousins were dancing with joy.

After the wedding I spent more than a week with Smita in India. It was nice to go with her to restaurants. It was great to have long conversations with her. It was good to be on a rickshaw with her as the rider rode the rickshaw throughout the city for more than an hour. Also, I was glad that she and I were able to visit some relatives as well as her family (her family lived in another city).

I recall being there in July for the wedding. It was very hot. Sometimes that was uncomfortable when we were outside but I got used to it. I was more glad being inside homes as most homes had an air conditioner or an air cooler.

I remember taking the flight from India to Canada with my family. I was very sad to leave Smita behind. The whole flight I felt sad and wept a bit as well. I kept thinking, “When will Smita come to Canada? I hope it will not be too long.”

In Canada I had to patiently wait day by day. When later I found out that her application was in process I felt good. Finally, in September 2007 she received her immigration papers. She was arriving in Canada on October 12th, 2007. That date will be one of the best days in my life forever.

My father and I left for Toronto the morning of October 12th as we had to go to receive Smita. It was the best car drive to Toronto I have ever had. I was so happy. We reached Toronto at least four hours before her flight. At the airport terminal we waited outside patiently and closer to the time we went to the arrival area for visitors. I was drinking a coffee. Usually I drink a coffee in about 15-20 minutes. That day it took me an hour to finish the coffee.

After a little while her plane arrived and about 50 minutes later I saw her coming out a large door with her baggage. I was elated to see her. I gave her a big hug. Finally, my wait was over. She was very happy to see my father and me. Then we drove back to Ottawa that night. I was glad that my long wait was over and that my wife would live with me in Canada now.

It has now been more than 15 years and Smita and I have two beautiful children. We have a very good life in Canada. Sometimes I still remember those 14 months when I was waiting for Smita - those anticipatory months.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Anshuman Kumar

I live and work in Canada and am originally from India. I am interested in movies, short stories, swimming, travel etc. Tips are definitely optional but are very welcome. Thank you for reading.

My email is [email protected]

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.