Families logo

Things Father and Daughter did in the 80s.

Things I remember doing when I was younger with my father, that is not something done these days.

By Kerrie G.DiazPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2022
52

Back in the 80's life was so different. I lived in the country at this time with my family. I was the youngest. One older sister and one older brother. Me being the youngest I was daddy's little girl.

I use to love to just hang out with my dad. I was a tomboy when I was younger. We use to collect eggs from our chickens. Use to walk in the woods. At the time I was not even sure what he was looking for in the woods but now I know. He had grown plants of marijuana in the woods in the backyard. I did not even care, was just the fact I could hang out with my dad was the only thing on my mind.

I use to help dad work on his cars. I did not care about the parts or what things were, I just handed him his tools. Finding the right tool and knowing which tool was what, was my only job. I know others will argue with the next sentence, but it is what I remember growing up. Chevy is better than Ford. We owned one of each a Ford and Chevy. The ford was the one my father and I were always working on. Not the Chevy. So for this reason I prefer Chevy over Ford.

When he would work on the car, he would need parts sometimes. Best place to get parts back in those days... The Junk Yard. I loved going there with my dad. Looking through all the stuff people threw away but a lot was in good condition. Dad said if I find something good I could take it home. I would search for hours ( at least it felt like hours) looking at all the cool things. Dreaming out what this old item was used for back in the 50s.

By Jeremy Bezanger on Unsplash

I have always loved old, antique items. Going to the junkyard was heaven for me. There were a couple we would go to, guess it may have had different parts for the car that he needed. I would love to just sit and look at all the old items even if I didn't keep them. Have you ever gone to the junkyard with your dad?

I remember going blackberry picking with my dad and grandma. My grandma (his mother) taught him how to pick berries and he passed that on to his children. Sure hurt if you got poked by the berry bush, but was great to eat more than you picked.

I mentioned that we had chickens. Well collecting eggs was not the only thing we had done with those chickens. We had a very mean, overprotective of his ladies, Rooster. He was a mean sun-of-a-gun. Even in their outside area, he hated anyone getting near the cage. I had that down a science when to collect eggs. I knew he would go outside right after coming in eating his breakfast then he would get a drink on the outside. soon as he went out, I would hurry and shut the door that lead to their outside area. yes, it was a caged-in, even the top so they couldn't fly out of their cage. While he was locked outside, madder than all heck, I would collect the eggs. We use go kill and eat them also. I could not watch that part. But the killing I would watch dad or grandma pluck the chicken. That was a tedious job. I could never have chickens and do this. Just not me.

By Emiel Maters on Unsplash

My father has now been gone for many years. These are the moments I will miss the most. Just father and daughter spending time together. Please cherish your parents cause when they are gone.... that's when you will miss them the most.

grief
52

About the Creator

Kerrie G.Diaz

The goal of my writing is to put a smile, help, or scare them. I love all kinds of topics Horror and paranormal are my favorite but really into true crime. If you like what you read please tip me with a coffee https://ko-fi.com/kerrie

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Brandi Dexter2 years ago

    love this

  • Angela Shiflett2 years ago

    I have a few similar memories...Thank you for sharing yours. I am terribly sorry for your loss. My mama has been gone just over 10 years and September 25th will make 5 years my dad has been gone. What a challenge it is to navigate the world without those two! I send my love to you!

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    I used to go to the junk yard with my dad, and blackberry picking with my mum and my stepdad. We kids used to play a game called Kirkby on the corners of our roads which were quiet. I remember football, and my parents celebrating every time our team won, and the pub Boxing day party which was just for kids. Roller-blading at the YMCA was one of my favourite things to do. I have many sad memories and only few good ones, but I hold on to those good ones for life.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.