Families logo

There Is No Such Word As Can't

The Story About A Girl That Was Told The Word Can't

By Shari Renae HicksPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
"You can do anything you put your mind to"

I was born December 1, 1983 with a disability and vision complications. Growing up I had to have special help because I am a special needs child who is now an adult. At the age of 5 I was adopted and I needed extra help with my learning disability. From Kindergarten up to my fourth grade year, I was told what I could not do instead of what I could do and I was severely bullied to the point where I had to prove to people that I could do some of the things that they could do. That took a lot of courage and my mother sat down with me every night and helped my with assignments and made sure that I understood how to do them. If it had not been for her, I would not be where I am today. With her help and dedication, I have gotten several achievement awards and I was always on the honor roll. During my middle school years, my first year was tough. Not only was I bullied, I had to stand up for myself and many people thought I was a girl who would get smart with others. That year had been my difficult year. By my eighth grade year, I was very successful and I passed all of my classes, which left a lot of people shocked at what I could do and many teachers surprised. When I reached high school, I had the best high school years of my life. Everyone was very nice to me except a few people but that did not stop me from getting my education. I had plenty of support from my teachers and all of the staff and if I needed help, I got the help I needed. When I graduated, I new that I could accomplish anything I wanted and that I could follow my dreams.

I am 37 years old now and I am here to share with you that there is no such word as the word can't. You can do anything that you put your mind to and you will come out on top. Your education is in your hands so know that you can do it if you try and do not give up on your hopes and your dreams! Just say to yourself "Yes I can!" Make yourself proud!

This story was inspired by my mother and I. She was very dedicated and knew what I could do. As a child, I considered her as my cheerleader because she would work with me day and night to make sure I got things right. Today, I am able to share my story because I see kids out in this world, today, who do not understand that they can do anything that they put their mind to. That may be difficult for some of us to do, but for me, I knew I could do lots of things and it is a blessing that I can share with other kids and their families that there is no such word as can't. My childhood was great and my mom was also a teacher and she loved working with kids. She knew that even though I had a disability, it would not stop me from doing the things I love to do. I am here to say that if there is a kid who has a disability do not let it stop you from following your dreams when it comes to your education because in the end, it will be worth it. It also amazes my that the kids that I grew up with and went to school with are out working hard and going to college to pursue their dreams. The majority of them are nurses so that shows others that education matters with or without a disability and that there are families that are dedicated to making sure that kids get a well deserved education. If I can do it, you can too!

parents
Like

About the Creator

Shari Renae Hicks

Hi

I am Shari! I like to write stories and share many life events through writing! Writing gets me focused on what is important and when I cam across Vocal, I thought that getting paid to do this on the side of my regular job would be neat!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.