Families logo

“The Sweetest Bouquet of a Little Blackbird”

The best aromas are always infused with hope.

By Autumn RainPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
5
Cheers to forgiveness and living life to the fullest.

Sammy ran her fingers across the spines of the small collection of her mother’s favorite books that had been tucked away on her preferred shelf. Her fingers danced across their titles like fingers on a piano and out of her lips poured a sort of song. “Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book by Better Homes & Gardens, 1,000 Vegetarian Recipes by Carol Gelles, The Food Almanac by Miranda York,” her voice trailed. The last one was new. She wondered to herself when her mother had added it. Peeling it off the shelf she fingered lightly through its pages. One of the corners of one of the pages had a crease in it. Sammy read the heading aloud, “Quince.” She repeated it to herself and pondered it before continuing, “A much mistaken fruit”.

“I see you found one of her favorites.” At the male’s voice, Sammy swirled her head around over her left shoulder and tensed as though she had just been caught taking a cookie out of a cookie jar. Dave sauntered over to Sammy with a light chuckle in his belly and a gentle smile on his lips.

“Favorite?” Sammy looked confused. “Why have I never seen this here before?”

“Well, it was one of her favorites for a number of reasons. I mean for starters it was given to her by an amazing person with impeccable taste.” At that, Dave pointed to himself. The two shared a laugh.

“I can’t even joke against you, Dave. You are indeed one of the best of talents when it comes to paring food, especially when it comes to eating it!”

“Aw, thank you, Sweetheart. Anyway, it was mine originally. I used to wonder where she was coming up with some of those new recipes or historical tidbits. One night I went to the kitchen to grab a little snack to satiate my hunger. I got up real quiet-like as to not wake her, mind you, only to have caught her in the corner sneaking glances at it! I gave it to her as part of a congratulatory gift for passing that culinary class she was so adamant about taking.” He set a wooden box he had been holding down on the area rug in front of Sammy, “Here, I think you should have this.”

“What is it?” Sammy inquired.

“Your mother was waiting to share this wine with you. She was so up to date on all your little endeavors. She was telling me about how you joined that one site. What was it? Bright something dot com.”

“Bright Cellars?” Sammy questioned.

“Yea that was it, Bright Cellars. Anyway, she said you loved the selections they would send out to you and that you were determined to try all of the white wines that they had. She said that your father had inspired that preference in you.” He chuckled to himself looking at the bottle. “I still remember her voice when she said it,” He heightened the pitch of his voice, “Her father inspired the white wine, so maybe I can inspire her with red. Specifically with Merlot. One day I want to have a special Mother-Daughter date with Sammy and enjoy a glass of this wine.”

“Merlot?” Sammy asked.

“Yep! She said this bottle specifically. It was the first bottle she received from Bright Cellars after signing up. She was so inspired by your excitement concerning the deliveries that she signed up herself in hopes that one day the two of you could share your passion together. She loved you so much. You were one of her favorite people in the whole world.” He twirled the bottle around in his hands, shook his head, and then put it back in the wooden crate on top of some brown confetti.

Sammy picked up the bottle. After looking it over she noticed that a little blackbird had been drawn onto the bottle with a sharpie. “A little blackbird,” she breathed.

“Yep, that’s what you’re holding,” Dave replied.

“Huh? My mom used to call me her ‘Little Blackbird’.” Sammy spoke with light enthusiasm.

“Oh! Maybe that’s another big reason she thought the two of you could share the Merlot.” Dave responded.

“Because her nickname for me was ‘Little Blackbird’?” Sammy questioned.

With great excitement, Dave replied, “Yes, and Merlot is said to mean little blackbird. So, there would be a duel meaning for the two of you!”

“Wow, I never knew that.” Sammy sentimentally rubbed the drawing. “She really was always trying to be more involved in my life, but I never really gave her the time of day after my father passed away.”

“That didn’t stop her from seeing the best in you, Kiddo.” Dave comforted her.

“I’m glad she wasn’t alone. She had you, Dave. Thanks for being there with her. She loved you very much. I know it must not have been easy for either of you to remarry after losing the first loves of your lives. But you both somehow managed to fall in love again. When you asked me permission to ask for her hand in marriage, I knew it was time.” Sammy playfully punched Dave’s arm.

Dave grinned, “I was so nervous asking you! But I’m so glad you said yes!”

Sadness seemed to suddenly envelop Sammy, “And now you’re alone again.”

“I’m not alone, Kiddo. I’ve got you. You’re enough family for me.” Dave took Sammy into a warm embrace.

Sammy looked at Dave with caring eyes and behind them a heart that knew better than to press the matter any further. They had both just lost someone, but he had lost someone he had spent much time with and had invested most of his heart into. Only time can allow for certain healings.

The air outside was brisk. Sammy twirled her keys around her finger as she headed to her car. The chill of the smooth metal against her skin somehow seemed to soothe her thoughts. After getting into her car she buckled her seatbelt and took in a deep breath before starting the engine. The frost on the windshield seemed to take forever to clear as she sat waiting. She watched as what appeared to be a collage of snowflakes slowly faded and was no more. Once she could see clearly enough to drive safely, she began on her way to the cemetery. She was determined that today would be the day that she would face the things she needed to face and today that was visiting the site of her mother’s grave. After pulling onto the grass, Sammy gathered two wine glasses and a blanket along with the Merlot her mother had left for her and set them up just in front of her mother’s headstone.

After pouring the wine she began to make her toast, “Here’s to our first date. Sorry, I never made time to go out and spend time with you, Mom. Thank you for making it so I could do things that you weren’t able to do and try the things that you never could, like this wine. I am using the bottle that you wanted, the Merlot that you got from Bright Cellars. I still can’t believe you did that.” Tears began to well up in Sammy’s eyes. She thought about how she regretted all the moments that she hadn’t made time for her mom because of unforgiveness and whatever other excuses she had made up at the time.

At that moment one of Sammy’s friends came up the incline pushing a cart of wines. Sammy looked on at the comical scene, happily embarrassed by her friend she could not help but cover her face with the palms of her hands. Her friend came rolling up with a huge cart. Hurriedly, she stated, “Sorry I’m late! I wasn’t sure which wine I was supposed to get. I forgot what you said, but I got all these!” Gesturing with her hands she made a grand sweep over the cart.

“Dude, Dorna, where are you even coming from?” Sammy did a 360 genuinely trying to figure out how Dorna had managed to bring a cart into a field in the middle of nowhere. “Also, you don’t even drink like that,” Sammy cracked up.

“Well, maybe I can gift them to many people.” Dorna shrugged. Pulling out a white wine Sammy sighed a happy longing whine “Vin Jaune? Where did you find this?!”

“Yay!” Dorna chimed clapping her hands together.

“Oh, my gosh. My father used to let me sneak a sip of this every now and then when my mom wasn’t looking and then she would scold him later.

‘A sip won’t hurt her’ he would make his case and wink at me as I hid secretly listening around the corner. ‘It puts hair on the chest,’ he would add.

‘My daughter doesn’t need hair on her chest thank you very much. Mark, she doesn’t need even a sip she’s only 5,’ my mother would reply. He would pull her into his arms and whisper sweet somethings into her ear until she would blush and shove him and giddily say stop it. Then the two of them would leave the kitchen or living room or wherever and playfully head back to their room. He would smile at me and give me a thumbs up and I would nod “yes” and give him a thumbs-up back. They loved each other very much. He was a good and considerate husband and the most doting father.”

“Wow. I’m honored to be a part of your first date with your mom. I’m glad I could be here for you. Oh, I almost forgot.” She pulled out a picnic basket from the wagon and opened it up. “I stopped at the Borough Market earlier and picked up your favorite,” her voice trailed before she picked up again, “multiple things. I wasn’t sure what you were in the mood for, but I grabbed some Sundratomato and Red Cow Parmesan. I also brought some Comté cheese from my place as well as some homemade bread that I just finished baking this morning so it’s still warm. At least it should be. Uh, we have some balsamic vinegar and some walnuts, as well as a few other things in here."

"Are you even real?" Sammy joked. "You sure went all out didn't you?"

Lightly blushing, Dorna replied, "Anything positive and pure for a friend."

“You know, I blamed my mother for my father's passing, but I just found out what truly happened last week. If I had just given her a chance to explain while she was still alive I would have had a better relationship with her. I should never have blamed her. And now…”

“Sammy, don't do this to yourself. You were a kid. You can’t beat yourself up over it. Yea, things may have turned out differently. But your mom was there for you in all the ways she could be. At least you have that. Your mother wanted you and loved you. She still was doing things for you even while you were not speaking to her and she was always hoping the best for you. Your happiness, seeing you happy, and accomplishing what was in your heart made her happy. Your life was her gift. Don’t live in regret. She wanted you to have all the good that you could." Dorna encouraged Sammy.

"You're right!" Lifting her glass in toast Sammy said, "To living life to the fullest and walking in forgiveness to those around me."

Dorna picked up the second glass that had been sitting on the blanket, "To forgiveness and living life to the fullest!"

The girls clinked their glasses and continued talking into the evening.

grief
5

About the Creator

Autumn Rain

The tongue has the power of life and death and those who love it eat its fruit.

Be kind 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.