Families logo

The Promise

Love Never Dies

By D. D BartholomewPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Amore mio, promise me you’ll be with me when I die,” he said to me.

I looked at him, not knowing if he was serious or not, but said, “Yes, I promise. Wherever I am, whatever I’m doing, I’ll come to you. But don’t go and die on me any time soon, all right?”

“I’m not planning on it,” he said with a grin. But I got the impression that somehow he knew what lay in his future.

We met at a concert. He was performing and I was working in the theater. I found him wandering the hallway near the dressing rooms, trying to calm his nerves before going on stage. He was mumbling something about making a fool of himself and why did he get himself into this predicament.

I laughed heartily; my first words sounding rather harsh. “You’re such an idiot! Of course, you’ll be good. You always are,” I said with an exasperated tone, as if it was an obvious thing. Then I strode off down the hall to leave him stewing in misery and self-doubt.

But I was correct, he was wonderful (as usual).

I felt awful afterward, berating myself during the whole concert and vowed to find him afterward and apologize for my insensitive words. So, when the concert finished, I made my way backstage and found him sitting alone in a corner.

I sat silently next to him and, after a few minutes he realized I was there and looked up.

“You were marvelous. I knew you would be, but I had to find you to say how sorry I was that I spoke to you that way before the concert. I felt awful.”

His jaw dropped, “Are you kidding? It was exactly what I needed to hear at that time. It’s what kept me from falling apart.”

I smiled, “I’m glad. I was worried you would be upset.” Then I introduced myself properly and he did too. Not that he needed to since everyone knew who he was.

I felt him take my hand, “Would you like to have dinner with me?” The minute he touched my hand, it was like there was an instance connection, like a spark igniting a flame in our hearts. We belonged to each other, there was no doubt.

“Sure. I’d love to.”

I fell in love that night and I’m still in love with him. I knew he felt the same way about me, but I knew he was married so I never pushed him. Yet every action, every look told me what I already knew.

After our time together that year, we went on with our lives. We talked on the phone at least once a month and we knew that, despite not being physically together, our hearts would always be joined to one another. And as much as I care about my husband, this man will always be the one… always.

When he was diagnosed with an aggressive form of cancer, he came to me and told me he’d be leaving for London where he would be treated in a hospital that specialized in his particular form of cancer.

After a year or so, it was clear the treatment wasn’t working, so he stopped. He was facing death, but no one knew when it would happen, just that it would.

One night, as I was leaving the theater my mobile phone rang. A soft voice on the other end said, “Amore mio, it’s time. Will you come?”

What could I do? Of course, I agreed. That night I packed my things and headed to his bedside knowing it would be the last time I’d ever see him.

I arrived at the hospital and when I walked into his room, I nearly cried. But I knew that was the worst thing I could do right then. I needed to be strong... for him.

I sat on the side of his bed, we looked at each other, not saying a word and yet knowing everything we needed to say was being said. I didn’t need to tell him I loved him; he knew. He took my hand and brought it to his lips, kissing it with reverence. Then he closed his eyes and passed into a more peaceful realm.

I was numb. I could barely breathe. And yet I felt uplifted, honored and humbled that I had known him.

The universe received an incredible human being that day and I guarantee he’s singing with the angels.

grief
Like

About the Creator

D. D Bartholomew

D.D. Bartholomew is retired from the Metropolitan Opera in NYC and a published romance author. Her books are set in the opera world, often with a mafia twist. She studies iaido (samurai sword) at a small school on Long Island.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.