Families logo

The one I'm today.

Where my experiences has taking me all this years.

By Hernán ArteagaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Today I'm a collection of events that drive me today to be living in London, UK. It was a simple idea of getting out of my county (Venezuela) and starting all over again in a different place and with different people and culture. The one I'm today is way different from the one I was 4 years ago. That guy living literally in a bubble, or better say, no life at all.

Venezuela has always been another latin american mess of a country, but coming from that country makes you not feel the problems that the country actually has. I have a mess of a life back there to be honest. Drop from University around 3 times, i wasn’t able to even complete the uni process. Studying for me was kind of hard, I was focused at the beginning but not at the end, and just dropped from it, even when I actually enjoyed learning very much. MY personal life was not the best to be an example today for my job. What makes me believe that i'm good as a teacher for kids and a good example for the kids i live with in the house, where i work as a nanny/manny in uk.

Is what I do best these days now. Love to be there for a kid who actually needs it. Having a teenager at home makes me think “I have to support that boy for Uni, he can't drop Uni like I did and he has to do his best every day in life”. I don't want him to be in that place, thinking what to do in Uni.

I went around with very bad friends. To give you an idea, in one of my schools, a public school one. My class started with 32 students and today I can say that only 6 of us are still alive. They all die from drugs, alcohol, crime and when life happens around them. This stuff I live with in the past just makes me more resilient against people. Make me think twice before having that person inside my life and be part of who I am for others.

With the kids I try to teach the value of your own individuality against others. Always teaching how to be a real independent person and not to rely on others for things that you can complete by yourself and accomplished by yourself. Outside influence is not something important for you to take decisions in life. I Don't want them to wait for others to take action in life.

I got so many friends in the past that follow others in decisions and take life not seriously, and today they are dead, or, in very bad living conditions. Or didn’t finish uni like me but never did something about it to make their life better with other kinds of job or life choices.

So it is important for me to be the person I am today even if others don't like the way I am. I always have to think that none of them brought me here. I can smile and think that i have a very good life in my hands because of me and those people who actually make positive contributions into my own life.

I want to be that friend who you can call for help if i can. Even if someone asked me for money, when i just have like 10 pounds that day, i'll send you my ten pounds because you can always be worse, but nothing will be worse than death itself.

The people we are today we always have to remember to be better than those who are just the worst. Remember that you are the one who's going to live with you for the rest of your life. There’s no need to live with problems when you are old.

I know I'll leave positive teaching to all the kids I work with. I want them to be better than yesterday and to be able to help others when they really need it. Life happens to all of us and is good to have yourself around.

Thanks.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hernán Arteaga

The London Manny!

Instg: TheLondonManny

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.