Families logo

The Little Red Hen and Friends - Kids story

A Tale of Cooperation and Friendship

By Rajeswari AkkiniPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
The Little Red Hen and Friends - Kids story
Photo by Joseph Sharp on Unsplash

Once upon a time, there was a little red hen who lived on a farm with her animal friends. She loved to work hard and spend her days tending to the crops and gathering seeds for next year's harvest. The other animals, however, were not as eager to help.

One day, the little red hen was planting some wheat seeds when she noticed that her friends were lazing about in the sun. "Who will help me plant these seeds?" she asked.

"I won't," said the lazy pig.

"I won't," said the sleepy cow.

"I won't," said the mischievous sheep.

So the little red hen set to work all by herself. She dug the holes, dropped in the seeds, and covered them with soil. As she worked, she thought about how much easier it would be if she had some help.

After a few weeks, the wheat began to grow tall and strong. The little red hen knew that it was time to harvest the wheat and turn it into flour. She went to her friends and asked for their help once again.

"I won't," said the lazy pig.

"I won't," said the sleepy cow.

"I won't," said the mischievous sheep.

So the little red hen set to work once again. She gathered the wheat and began to grind it into flour. She worked hard all day, and when she was finished, she had a big bag of flour ready to be made into bread.

The little red hen went back to her friends and asked them if they would help her bake the bread. "I won't," said the lazy pig.

"I won't," said the sleepy cow.

"I won't," said the mischievous sheep.

So the little red hen set to work again. She mixed the flour with yeast, water, and salt, kneading the dough until it was soft and smooth. She let the dough rise, then put it in the oven to bake.

As the delicious smell of fresh bread wafted through the air, the little red hen's friends began to take notice. They realized that they wanted to be a part of the baking process, too.

But the little red hen was tired and frustrated. She had worked hard all day, and now her friends wanted to share in the fruits of her labor. "No," she said firmly. "I will not share my bread with those who did not help me."

The lazy pig, the sleepy cow, and the mischievous sheep all looked at each other, feeling ashamed. They knew that the little red hen was right. They had been lazy and had not helped her, and now they would not be able to enjoy the delicious bread that she had made.

The little red hen enjoyed her bread all by herself, knowing that she had earned it through her hard work and determination. And from that day on, her friends learned to appreciate the value of hard work and to always lend a helping hand.

The little red hen, feeling overwhelmed by the number of tasks ahead, sought the help of her friends. First, she asked the cow, "Will you help me plant the wheat?"

"I'm sorry, I can't," replied the cow. "I have to milk myself and produce enough milk to sell it to the market."

Next, the little red hen went to the horse and asked, "Will you help me plant the wheat?"

"I'm sorry, I can't," replied the horse. "I have to pull the plow and work in the field all day long."

Finally, the little red hen went to the pig and asked, "Will you help me plant the wheat?"

"I'm sorry, I can't," replied the pig. "I have to eat and get big so that the farmer can sell me for a good price in the market."

Feeling discouraged, the little red hen decided to do all the work by herself. She planted the wheat, watered it, and watched it grow. When the wheat was ready to be harvested, she asked for help again. But once again, the cow, the horse, and the pig refused to help.

Undeterred, the little red hen harvested the wheat, took it to the mill, and ground it into flour. Then she made the dough and baked it into fresh bread. The delicious aroma of the freshly baked bread filled the air and attracted the attention of her friends.

"Who made this delicious bread?" asked the cow.

"I did," replied the little red hen. "But I couldn't have done it without the help of my friends."

The cow, the horse, and the pig felt ashamed and realized that they should have helped the little red hen when she needed it. They apologized for not helping her and promised to be more supportive in the future.

From that day on, the little red hen and her friends worked together and shared the workload. They all enjoyed the freshly baked bread, and their friendship grew stronger.

The little red hen learned a valuable lesson: it's always better to ask for help and work together to accomplish a task. With the help of friends, anything is possible.

children
Like

About the Creator

Rajeswari Akkini

Hi, my name is Rajeswari Akkini and I love writing children's stories! I am a proud mother of two beautiful daughters, and I have always enjoyed creating stories for them and their friends.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.