Families logo

The Life of an Adopted Boy

True Story

By Anthony MccallisterPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Well it started back when I was two years old. I'm thirty-three years of age now but my adopted parents got me when I was two years of age. I was a very shy kid, didn't like to be touched and didn't talk much at first that's because I was physically abused and sexually abused.

My parents at first always told me I was adopted, but that didn't mean anything I was just their kids as my brother Scott was, who wasn't adopted. Mom had my brother, but after Scott my mom couldn't seem to have any more kids. She kept having miscarriages.

One day my mom broke down on her knees, yelling and cussing at God because she wanted another child and as soon as she did that the phone rang no lie. There was a little boy for adoption from my mom's side of the family. My mom's cousin married my biological mom sister . That how they found out about me.

Private adoption wasn't an easy task. One time my biological mother came all the way back down here to West Virginia and took me from them. Took me all the way back to Detroit, just because her dad said she wouldn't do it and called my parents and said you can come back and get him now. I just had to prove a point to my father. After that she sign me away to my new family and started my new life.

Like I said before my parents always tried to tell me I was adopted but no different from their actual son, I was their son just the same. But my mom said I came up to her every day for like months and asked if I came out of your belly right. She always say no you were adopted but you're my son just the same as your brother Scott. Well one day she got tired of me asking if I came out of her belly, and she said yes you came out of my belly and it was like I compressed the memory and completely forgot I was adopted after that, never asked again. Pretty much the next 10 years I lived a pretty normal average childhood life. Then one day my parents walked in and said boys come in the living we need to talk . I was 12 at the time. I and my brother Scott sit down and are parents tells us they are getting a divorce. I didn't handle that well at all, I was devastated because I loved my family and didn't want to see if fall apart. Well a year down the road, my mom meets some guy off the internet. His name is Doug and he seemed nice. Had a big nice truck you could tell he had money. He was from P. A and my mom wants to go up to P. A for a couple weeks and ask me to come along, I do because I'm a mama boys and I ain't letting my mom go off with some strange guy she didn't even know.

Well not two days later we are heading to P. A and I fell asleep why my mom was driving behind Doug and his truck. I'm sleeping and I have, what I think is a weird Nightmare. I've had them for years now and I wake up and tell my mom about the dream again and my mom gives me this sad look and said listen my son. Then ain't nightmares than are flashbacks of your biological mom and her boyfriend. You were adopted son and your mom was real young and on drugs and that the boyfriend of hers beat you and sexually abused you but that doesn't make you any different you're still my son I love you. I'm in shock and start crying because I couldn't believe what I just heard. My parent's, I loved ain't my real parents and mine gave me up because they rather get high than be with me.

This is where it all went down a hill from there. My brother used to say I was adopted all the time when he was mad at me. I thought he was just being a Dick but no he Wasn't lying I really was adopted. Well, mom married that guy Doug I went back to WV because that's where my family and friends were. I start smoking a pot at 13 and drinking a lot. My dad still messed up from mom, leaving he never really comes out of it, but he does marry this lady name Tina . He Married her because he didn't want to be alone honestly. He wasn't happy and stayed at work.

I was still going wild, getting in trouble at 14 for destruction of property how to do probation then when I just turned 18, I caught the grand larceny for taking a car with keys in it, keeping it longer than 24 hours gave me a felony charge. The judge sentenced me to the Anthony Correctional Center for a year and a half. My dad was there for me, though this put money on my books, came and visited me. Got my GED while I was there. I knew one thing once I got out of there I was never going back to jail. I stuck to that for a long time.

Well I finally got out of the Anthony Correctional Center. I got a job at KFC, met my ex-wife gorgeous woman and had two beautiful daughters, became a manager. Did what I thought I had to do to support my family. Have a house two cars and you know what I was wrong. I should have gone back to school why I worked at KFC as crew. I might still have my wife if I did that. I might still have my family if I did that.

I worked 70 hours a week. It put a strain our marriage. Stressed and depressed all the time. Well, she finally left. I was devastated couldn't quit crying every day at work. I love you so much and I want her back so bad. Well you can probably figure what I turned to for help. Yep your right, it was Drugs. Sweet old drugs. It made the tears stop. I felt normal again but that was a huge mistake. Because I got fired and started selling huge amounts of drugs. Made a lot of money really did felt like I was on some Drug King pin movie it was so unreal.

But that finally came to an end when the guy I was partnered with Rob me, a me of 12 grande and made it where I lost everything. Later on I realized he did me a favor because that was no way to live my life, and he ended up going away for 12 years.

So I'm really grateful how stuff turned out and I'm clean and going back to school and I wrote this story, hoping some of you might like it and give me a little help with college to better myself for my kids and this is really my life story. Thank you all hope you all have a wonderful rest of your life God bless you!

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Anthony Mccallister

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.