Families logo

The Life of A Teen Mother

I was 19 when I had my son.

By AlyshaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hey, guys! My name is Alysha. This is my story...

I was 19 when I had my son and my son's father was 18. We found out we were expecting in October of 2016. I was hysterical because I was so nervous. So many questions were running through my head. My son's father wasn't too thrilled about the pregnancy. He was working at McDonald's and I wasn't working at all. I continued to worry about how we would afford this baby. We didn't tell anyone until about a month or two after we had found out. I immediately applied for health insurance and made my first OBGYN appointment.

Fast forward a little bit to the announcement. My son's father was too afraid to tell his parents. I told my mom and she cried. I'm still not sure if it was out of fear, excitement, or the usual "You're not ready" statement. A month goes by, and my son's father was still afraid to tell his parents. (We lived with his dad during this time.) I ended up getting annoyed and told his dad, who told his mom. They were both livid. His mom took it a little better than his dad. His dad yelled at him and told him to give our baby up for adoption. Adoption never even crossed my mind. I couldn't give my baby away. His dad had said it so much that he wired it into his mind, that we had to give our baby away. I kept telling him I was not doing that, but he insisted.

Fast forward to the first ultrasound. I got there and was so nervous. I had heard so many stories. They did a blood draw, checked my weight, and asked me about my family's medical history first. I almost passed out. (I'm not good with blood) Next, they took me into the office and had me strip my bottom half. The wait for the doctor was long. When she finally walked in, my stomach fell through my butt. She introduced herself, and we began the process. Once I saw the little, tiny gummy bear-looking baby on the screen, I instantly fell in love. And from that point forward, life just got hectic.

Our son was born on July 18, 2017, his due date! He was 8 pounds, 2 ounces. The nurses asked me if I was going to breast or formula feed. I decided I would try to breast feed. My son was circumcised the day before we left the hospital.

The night we arrived at home was horrible. He screamed the entire night. The next day was a little better. I got to eat a little. A lot of arguments started between me and my son's father. We almost split on numerous occasions. Money was always tight, and we were both exhausted. Having a child is a real relationship tester. But we love him to pieces. \

His name is Layton. He is now 4-months-old, still breast-fed and eats baby food. He rolls over, loves his toys, and smiles and laughs. Being a teen parent is EXTREMELY hard. But they keep you focused and on your toes. Before I knew I was pregnant, I just cared about having fun with my friends and blowing my money. I didn't have any interest in college. I didn't have my license. As soon as I found out I was pregnant, I got a job, and all my money went towards the things he needed. I got my driver's license, a car, etc. I'm going to go back to college in the spring. He's really opened my eyes and it's amazing.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.