Families logo

The Legacy

Scarlet Wolfe

By Scarlet WolfePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2

Splash

Splash

Splash

My knees were curled against my chest as I listened to the rain falling outside my window. The drops of rain seemed to fall with the same rhythm as my tears. I guess nature really was in tune with itself.

It had been five days since I’d received the news, and I hadn’t stopped crying except for a few thoughtless moments. I’d been feeling better the past two days, but today just brought on a new wave of emotion.

Today was the funeral.

I’d already picked out the dark clothes I was going to be wearing. I only owned so many of those, and the one that had stood out best was a black dress. It had been shoved into the back of my closet, presumably because of the memories associated with the last time I had worn it.

I shoved those thoughts out of my head as I hung the dress in my bathroom. Today wasn’t for me. Today was for Mémé.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Today we are here, not to be sad about what could have been, but to celebrate what was.” John Paul’s voice rang through the yard, seeming to bounce off everything in the vicinity.

“Maria Dubois wasn’t the kind of person who would want us to be sad, but would want us to celebrate. So that is exactly what we will do.” JP held up his glass for a toast and I watched as the people around me did the same.

“To Maria Dubois. Loving mother, doting grandmamma, and loyal wife.”

The funeral-goers all cheered, and I couldn’t help the bile that raised in my throat as they downed their drinks. John Paul had always been my least favorite cousin, always trying to sweet-talk his way into the hearts, and pockets, of everyone around him.

And anyone who knew my grandmother knew that she was a lot of things, but loving, doting and loyal were not any of them. Not to the people JP referenced, at least.

She was all of those to me.

“You do realize she’s dead, right? There’s nothing else you can do to weasel your way into her will,” I deadpanned as I approached JP at the open bar. My grandfather’s idea, of course.

JP turned to face me, a sickly-sweet smile on his face.

“Well, hello there dear cousin. And how are you feeling? I heard that you’ve been practically catatonic the past few days. You should really have a drink. Let loose,” JP’s voice was bitter, and he returned his attention to the bar.

Of course, cousin Katherine would have told everyone about her visit to see me.

“Is that why your lovely wife and kids aren’t here? You don’t want them to see you ‘let loose’. We all know you do that plenty when they’re not around,” I shot back, turning to leave before he could react.

But even drunk he had above average reflexes.

“Just because you knew how to warp the wretch around your finger, doesn’t mean that you’re any better than us,” He hissed as he gripped my upper arm tightly. I met his eyes and refused to wince as his fingernails began to dig into my skin.

“Maybe not better. But definitely richer,” I mimicked his plastered smile as I tugged myself from his grip.

I watched as his face scrunched up, a vein appearing on his forehead. Clearly my assumption was correct. He was only here for the money.

“I always knew how to read you, John Paul. I’ll see you at the will reading.”

And without a second glance, I turned on my heels and headed to the library.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“I thought I’d find you here,” A deep voice said, and I looked up from my hiding place. A grin broke out across my face.

“Sammy,” I greeted, standing up to face him. He was dressed in a sharp black suit, but that wasn’t surprising. He was usually dressed quite nice every time I saw him. He was Mémé’s lawyer and financial advisor. And secretly, her best friend.

“How are you?” He asked me, his brows drawing together as he looked at me, almost examining me.

I shrugged. There wasn’t much I could say. I was surprised I’d been able to get this far in the day without breaking down.

“I’m truly sorry for your loss. I know how close the two of you were,” He told me, and I smiled sadly at him.

“I’m not the only one who loved her,” I reminded him lightly, and I saw confusion flash across his face. But before I could say anything else, the look was gone, and Sammy seemed to switch gears.

“I didn’t just come to find you to offer my condolences. I have some business to discuss with you,” He said, and his voice was stern but not unkind.

I took a deep breath. While I had truly been upset the past few days, I had also not left my apartment or answered any calls because I wanted to push off this conversation for as long as possible.

Everyone knew that I was my grandmother’s favorite out of all her children and grandchildren, which had caused a lot of animosity during the past few years.

My grandmother was rich. I never knew how rich; I didn’t really care about that. I had her love and adoration, and she had mine, and that had always been enough.

Of course, I did know how she was rich.

“Sammy, can’t this wait? We’re doing the will reading later, right?” I protested. I had already been trying to amp myself up for that.

“This isn’t just about the money,” He said, giving me a pointed look. I felt my heart stop, and I had to remind myself to breathe.

“No.”

I couldn’t do this. Not now.

She couldn’t think that I could do it. Not when there were people like John Paul and Katherine in our family. Wasn’t that what her tough love was about? She was preparing them for today.

“She chose you,” Sammy said softly, patting my shoulder awkwardly.

I flinched away from his touch.

“She couldn’t. She wouldn’t!” I protested, taking a step back. As if I could put physical distance between myself and what Sammy was telling me.

“She’s been preparing you for this. It’s your family’s legacy,” His voice grew harder, and when I looked into his eyes, I saw my grandmother in them. It was as if I was hearing her voice.

My breath caught in my throat as Sammy pulled It out of his briefcase.

The dim library light reflected oddly off the dark cover. I noticed that the binding had become much more frayed since the last time I had seen it.

Like my family.

“I don’t want this legacy,” My voice caught, and I felt the tears welling up in my eyes as I looked up towards Sammy. His gaze grew soft as he looked back towards me.

“I’m sorry dear. But the book is yours. There’s no escaping now,” He placed the Black Book in my hands, and I felt myself beginning to shake.

I knew he was right. And that terrified me.

“I will announce that the inheritance is yours at the reading but given the nature of your family I’m planning on making a quick escape after I break the news. I suggest you do the same. Here is everything you will need. I trust that you know what to do next?” He handed me a small pouch. Without a second thought I knew exactly what was in the pouch. The tools of my new trade.

“How much?” I asked, knowing that it didn’t really matter. Money was always just an object to me.

“The entire fortune is divided among her different estates as well as her accounts. I’m still trying to tally up the final sum. But the book holds what you should need for now.”

A strange feeling washed over me as I realized I did know exactly what to do. Maybe my grandmother did make the right choice.

It didn’t stop the frustration I felt towards her. She had never hinted towards me being the next Legacy Holder.

Yet here I was.

“Yes. I know what to do.” I surprised myself with how even my voice was. How sure of myself I was.

The fortune was mine.

And so was the responsibility.

Sammy left without another word. And it was just the pouch, the Book, and me. I moved to sit at one of the tables in the library, setting the pouch aside. I stared at the book in front of me, taking a deep breath before opening it.

Two slips of paper fell out. A note from my grandmother, which I moved to the side. And a $20,000 bank note.

My hand shook slightly as I pulled the book closer, my fingers running along the rough surface.

I knew what was waiting for me, but I still felt a sick feeling rise inside of me.

A list of names. A list that only a few people in history had seen. Some names were crossed out, some were left untouched.

A hit list, you might think.

No. Not exactly.

My grandmother was no assassin. She was a protector. From a long line of protectors. And this book was their lifeline, and it was now mine.

I found the first name and took a deep breath.

literature
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.