Families logo

The last time I fell in love

Learning to define your relationship

By Nwaka PreciousPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Love is beautiful thing as we all know, but mine was more than just beautiful.

Three months after I met my LOML. Everything seemed to fall in to place.

And it looks as though, the host of heaven has finally visited earth and their dwelling place was my life.

That line of the scripture..there will be no more sorrows was made manifest in my life.

He had these charming set of eyes, that I was always shy to behold,because they always made me loose focus of every other thing happening around me.

His masculine figure, was one that made me so proud, whenever we walked together.

And above all, he was very interesting, we could talk for hours without lacking words.

And was always there to keep me company. Ever since we met, the word loneliness was deleted from my dictionary.

Everything was going so well, and life was so good to be true.

School became fun after we met in year four.

He was always hanging around me, we went out together, we did assignments together, he buys things for me.

And as long as I was concerned, he loved me as well as I did.

But despite the fact that things were going so well, there were some little things that I couldn't just place well.

He was always hanging around me, but he never told me he loves me

I actually didn't like to give that a second thought, anytime it comes to my mind.

I just concentrated on the moments, and didn't want to spoil them by asking any silly question.

My friends told me that maybe he was waiting for the day he will propose to me, to tell me that.

I believed them.

As I started imagining how he will kneel down and propose to me, I will then blush

And form for two weeks before I say yes

Four years later, we were done with school, had served and had comfortable jobs.

We still communicated like we did when we were in school and even more sef.

By then I started praying for the will of God in marriage, and I was seriously believing God that Dan was my Mr. Right.

Now there was a problem.

I loved him, and as well as I was concerned he loved me too.

I was sincerely praying, God wasn't saying anything.

he also wasn't saying anything, he wasn't moving forward, but I wasn't getting any younger .

So I decided to seek counsel from a friend of mine

Who told me to be sincere to myself, and use my head to approach the matter.

In her words she said....

Despite the fact that Dan is older than you, women are not wired like men, he can choose to get married even at 40 and nothing is wrong.

But remember menopause is not as far as you think.

You will be hear believing God, until he will give you an invitation letter.

Fix a non working day you both can meet, and ask him, we have been friends for the past six years.

You are always hanging around me, but I really don't understand this friendship.

Are we dating, are we courting or are we just friends?

You hear his reply, so you know where you are in. Tolu time is going on

Remember I didn't say propose, I said ask him!.

Stop being emotional about the whole thing be sensible for once.

So as she said, I took the bold step to invite Dan over for launch at Crystal hostel.

And we both ate, talked and laughed as usual.

Thirty minutes into the discussion, he asked me, this one you specially invited me, is there any thing you wanted to tell me.

My hands were already become sweaty, my feet were shaking, but I still kept a smiling face so he wouldn't notice.

Ehhhhhh....I cleared my voice.

Dan? We've known each other for like six years now, you are always hanging around me, buying me things, and calling me.

But you have never said any serious thing concerning Relationship to me.

Are we dating, Are we courting, or are we just friends ?.

Tolu to be honest with you,

I like you, for your comportment, your intelligence, your love for God, your positive vibe and so many other things about you.

I like you sincerely as though you were my sister, and never as a wife.

I have no intentions of marrying you.

It's just a brother-sister relationship

That day I died, Resurrected and died again on that spot I was sitted

I felt like the ground should open let me enter, shock didn't allow me utter a word again

The heartbreak was so much for me to bear

I had to ask the holy Spirit to help me go through the rest of the launch.

But that was the beginning of my break through

It took me a month to recover, it wasn't easy though, it was a month that seemed as one year

Finally after much drilling from God, and mindset restructuring I got back on my feet.

Today I am happily married with three kids

I decided to share my story to you all today, in this SINGLE'S CONFERENCE.

Because I know it will be of help to so many of you, if only you will listen.

Whenever you are in a relationship or even friendship with someone, whosoever, boy or girl.

Learn to DEFINE THE RELATIONSHIP!

If only I had defined the relationship I had with Dan in clear terms, I wouldn't have gotten that heartbreak

If only I had listen to my HEAD, when it was speaking about the fact that he never showed any sign of a serious relationship

Neither, I listened to my HEART, that didn't want trouble. But you see what later happened to me

If only I didn't let ASSUMPTIONS fill my mind, I could have realized the truth on time.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.