Families logo

The July 4th holiday.

We are lucky to be free.

By Terri RosallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The July 4th holiday.
Photo by Philipp Berndt on Unsplash

On this holiday of July 4th we have a lot be thankful for. We have survived a very tuff year with Covid- 19 nipping at of heals. We took our shots like true Americans should. Some of us are still on the fence about this.

Anyway it not just about a shot that we have taken it what we do as Americans on July 4th.

We take the time to be thankful for our freedom and some Americans gave all that they could in many war so we can celebrate this holiday.

We are thankful for this.

So it time to come out and celebrate and be with people again. The July 4th holiday will have people coming to together with picnics, fireworks and family.

We will hug again and celebrate this holiday is about. Some of us will take the oath to become Americans today. Some of will mourn that lost of ones because of the freedom that they were fighting for.

We are free again to celebrate this holiday we call the July 4th. It is something that our founding father wrote about and passed into law.

So what may be your plans for today as you celebrate this birthday of America. I know that I am thankful to just be with my family and friends for today. I know some of my friends will be surprised by their family member with a new family member for the first time seeing a newborn baby for the first time or a family member coming home from war to stay for good.

Yes, it day for picnic and fireworks and family member also. Enjoy the time that you have with them this year because it may be the last time that you can.

As I put out the American flag this morning. I can't help to feel the pride that I can do this because I am free and happy about it. But I am sad that people will take the time to burn the flag in hate because they don't feel that way that I do. I am so happy to see that flag flying in the wind. It is a freedom thing I am guessing.

Soon I will start making the food for the day of celebration. Some the of recipes will be from family members that have passed away and made that same recipes for the July 4th. Making a recipe from a member that has pasted takes me back to days of July 4th of past.

The good times as a child and I hope to pass these recipes along the way to different family members.

Yes it has the red, white and blue theme of that day. It is about America and the freedom that we have.

I have my favorite colors on today. I love wearing my red, white and blue. It is a pride in me because I am free to wear these colors. I don't just wear these colors for just one day a year. I wear them because I can wear them when I want to wear them because I am free to wear that. I can't express enough that way that I feel inside when I have these colors on. It a pride that I am thankful to have.

I hear that there is talk about adding another state to bring us to 51 states. I think that we should do this. We can't get enough stars on that flag. It is time to add more stars to that flag. So let's support this new state. Bring on that new state. Washington D.C. I will welcome you as a state and but that star on the flag.

I will watch that fireworks on the television to be safe this year. I love to see the Blue Angels do their tricks in the sky. That is what I think about July 4th.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.