Families logo

The Joy of Play: Rediscovering Childhood through Time with Kids

Embracing Your Inner Child: The Benefits of Spending Time with Kids

By Jay VPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to spend some quality time with my brother's three-year-old son. Let me tell you, that little guy is one smart cookie! He's playful, talkative, and full of energy. My mom, who was busy with household chores, asked me to keep an eye on him for a while. As a responsible adult, I accepted the task, but soon found myself struggling to keep up with his endless stream of questions and chatter.

After a few minutes of trying to manage him, I had an idea. I decided to tap into my own childhood memories and played a game that my brother and I used to love when we were his age. We built a house out of pillows and blankets, and then filled it with tiny utensils from my old cooking set that I had found in the attic. My nephew was delighted, and I have to admit, I found myself getting caught up in the fun too. For a brief moment, I was transported back to my own childhood and felt a sense of relaxation and joy.

We played and played, and before we knew it, three hours had flown by! When my mom returned and heard our laughter, she was impressed. "Wow," she said, "you managed to keep him entertained for three hours straight!" I couldn't believe it either. Despite my busy work schedule, I had found myself lost in the moment, enjoying quality time with my nephew.

As I reflected on the experience, I realized just how difficult it can be to monitor children. Their endless energy, non-stop chatter, and unpredictable behavior can be exhausting. That's why I want to take a moment to give a shout-out to all the mothers out there who tirelessly take care of their children day in and day out. It truly is the most challenging job in the world.

But on the other hand, I also want to encourage everyone to embrace their inner child when given the chance. Playing with my nephew not only brought me joy but also gave me a much-needed break from the stresses of adult life. If you find yourself in a similar situation, take the opportunity to let loose and enjoy the moment. Get down on the floor, build a pillow fort, and let your imagination run wild! You'll be amazed at how quickly time flies by and how much better you feel afterward.

In fact, I liked playing with my nephew so much that I'm thinking of revisiting some of my old childhood favorites. Maybe I'll take up coloring, or try my hand at building a Lego tower. Who says adults can't have fun too?

So, the next time you find yourself with a little one, take a deep breath and dive right in. I guarantee you'll have a blast and make some precious memories in the process. Just remember, time moves forward, not backward, so treasure every moment and don't miss out on the chance to play.

Spending time with children can be both challenging and rewarding. It requires patience, creativity, and a willingness to embrace your inner child. But the benefits are undeniable. Playing with kids can help you de-stress, improve your mood, and make lasting memories. Children's world is a place where there is no judgment, no worries, and no stress. It is a world full of love, laughter, and endless joy, so take some time to dive into it and enjoy the simplicity of life. So, go ahead and give it a try. Who knows, you might just discover a new hobby or rediscover an old one.

Subscribe now to receive notifications for each new updates from me as they become available.

valuessiblingsparentshow tochildrenadvice
2

About the Creator

Jay V

An aspiring writer who wish to leave a mark in history...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.