Families logo

The Joy of Home

It is the Simple Things

By Heather CashPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Joy of Home
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

The chaos in our nation has left many of us feeling down and out. Traveling is out of the question for most and the wearing of masks in public during summer months has us questioning the freedom our country was built on. With the election of 2020 quickly approaching, it seems we are fighting an invisible war of good versus evil. But the reality for most is that the sun is shining, children want to go outside to play, and adults want to enjoy summer vacation doing all the activities summer time brings. Sweltering temperatures are making it difficult to enjoy outdoor activities unless water is involved. So how is everyone coping? Are you taking the chance and traveling to your favorite destinations or are you making the most of it making your home and backyards the focus of enjoyment with family and friends?

What would probably be a great time to do home improvements and cleaning out of closets, it is the furthest thing from my mind. I cannot even bring myself to watch television anymore. My motivation is definitely aimed in other directions. To be fair to myself, I am taking college classes, which takes a lot of focus. The rest of time is spent chasing an inquisitive two year old grandson around. As much as he lights up my life, this girl is tired! Honestly, I would not have it any other way. To be a special part of my grandson’s life is a blessing and I am very proud to have that opportunity. Now, throw in a couple of teenagers on top of that! I haven’t found a quiet area to hide, if only for a few minutes, since March. But I am still smiling. I also know that I am not alone in this scenario. If I had to bet, there are a million stories to be shared and please, feel free to share.

Home is our safe place. A place of comfort and a place where you can be yourself. It is very lived in. I began to realize that housework and dishes will always be there to be done. The laundry will continue to pile up if you do not get to it right away. There are meaningful things in life that only happen for a moment. I like to enjoy those moments. Now, my living room is filled with toys that stretches down the hallway and there are dishes in the sink. I have laundry calling my name. But, I do not care. I am listening to sound of a tiny voice singing his own tune joyfully while playing ball in the living room. The pitter patter of little feet across the hardwood floor fills my soul with joy. Backyard shenanigans of bouncing on the trampoline and riding trikes through the grass barefoot by day and big bonfires by night light the dark with the smell of roasting marshmallows. Music plays in the background while we share stories when all the kids are visiting. Board games have become a comical event and should be streamed live, but to save embarrassment, we do not do that. I have learned to appreciate love and laughter and to cherish every moment that we have together. Although rare, I have learned to appreciate naps. It is the simple things in life I truly enjoy the most.

I often wonder how many others have found the same joy. It is almost as though time stands still for now. It will be a time that we all remember and it will be talked about for generations to come. Really I do not think it matters where you have spent quarantine. It matters who you spent it with and adapting to the circumstances. We made memories that will last a life time with positivity and love right where it all began. Home is where the heart is and a loving nature is the cure.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.