Families logo

The Host Competition: Even if the world is against you, your mother is your strongest backer

There is a kind of motherly love, called "self-righteousness".

By Phil HolzerPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

When the whole world is concerned about how high you fly, fly far away, only she cares if you fly hungry, tired of flying. This is the mother.

Recently, CCTV's "Host Competition" returned to the screen after many years, with its fast pace, full content, sunny temperament, intensive knowledge output, and strong emotional stirring, firmly locking the public's attention and triggering enthusiastic attention and discussion among netizens.

Among the 18 contestants in the three phases that have been aired, I was impressed by Sha Haibo, who did not advance but had a good audience.

The award ceremony is not unfamiliar in our life, but Sha Haibo brings this award ceremony is different, although the language is witty, full of true feelings, let people laugh and smile and tear up.

A mother's love for her child is unconditional, and this love travels through the years and can shine with the sun and the moon.

Sha Haibo's gratitude to his mother made me feel the words: there is a mother's love, called "self-righteousness".

Even if the whole world is against you

Mother is also your strongest backing

Sha Haibo gave the "most self-righteous award" to his mother, and his "award speech" was like this.

If love makes people blind, then affection can make people completely irrational, I am such a bland "small potatoes", in the eyes of my mother that is perfect "golden lumps".

Eat a lot of food - strong.

Eat less - healthy.

Falling in love - a hit.

The breakup - I told you she was not good enough for us.

"Mom, people proposed it first."

"Then you have to allow people to know the difficulties and retreat."

I participated in the host competition this time my mother is full of confidence and said: "Go, my son was born to be the host of the material, look at the five long, and Sabine look the same."

I was lucky to participate in the host competition this time, I want to participate in the performance competition, but my mother dared to say that I look like Gulnazza. But my mom said, "Come on, just like you, who will praise you if I don't praise you?"

Old mother, thank you so much.

This mother's compliment to her son reminds me of a famous quote by the famous American writer Mark Twain: "A word of praise for me would have kept me alive for two months."

For the "self-righteous" mother, no matter what the outside world says about her child, even if the whole world is against her, she can always find her child's merits and give her child timely praise and encouragement.

For the child, the mother's encouragement and support are his or her greatest motivation and hope to persevere.

A child who often receives affirmation from his mother will have more confidence to walk his path in life.

The founder of Mom Philosophy and Weibo parenting vlogger @Dodo is also such a "self-righteous" mother. Once she said to her son.

I am most grateful that you are my son, whether you go to Harvard or vocational school, work in the world's largest creative company or be a traditional practitioner in the family's backyard, as long as you choose, Mom loves. Success and failure are the most mercenaries of definitions. If I want success, I will pursue it on my own and not force you to help mommy accomplish it. Life is magical and never too late. Your well-thought-out decisions mommy will support, just like supporting an unknown belly carrying a baby and slowly ripening it.

In today's context where some parents are trying to design a life path for their children and want them to fulfill their dreams for them, it takes not only wisdom but courage to be a "self-righteous" parent who constantly gives praise and encouragement to their children.

This "self-righteousness" reflects respect for the child, which is a higher level, more pure love.

Mother and child

The outsiders are concerned about how high you are flying

The mother is concerned about whether you are tired of flying

I've heard the phrase: "When the world is concerned about how high you fly, fly far away, only she cares about how hungry you are flying, flying tired. This is the mother."

"If you are well, it is sunny." In the "self-righteous" mother's view, although she also hopes that her children can live a successful life, compared to the child's fame and fortune are not so important, the child's health and safety are the most important.

I once read a report that

On October 15, 2003, Yang Liwei's family watched the launch of the Shenzhou V spacecraft on the big screen of the Beijing Space Command and Control Center.

When they saw their son's spacecraft take off, Yang's mother said with tears in her eyes, "Isn't Liwei sitting on a big fireball?"

Yang's father reassured his partner, saying, "The fireball will send Liwei into orbit and then he will be safe."

While outsiders were concerned about Yang Liwei's journey into space and his flight to fame, the mother was only concerned about her son's safety at that moment.

In the logic of the "self-righteous" mother, life and death are trivial matters; as long as the child is safe and healthy, other financial losses are not a concern.

In the article "Love can be so open-minded", writer Lawrence Liu tells a story like this.

An old friend of his had a car accident, the whole front end of the car was broken, but fortunately, no one was injured. When the friend came home, he reported the accident to his mother. "Lucky for you," said the 80-year-old mother, "you were driving that old car, if you had gone out in your new Mercedes, you would have done a lot of damage." "Wrong," exclaimed Lawrence Liu's old friend, "I drove that new car out today." "Lucky," his old mother laughed again, "if you had taken the old car out, you would have been dead." "Huh? How can you be right on the left and right on the right?" Liu Yong, an old friend, asked in a bad mood. "Of course, the left is also right, right is also right. As long as my son keeps a life, everything is right." The old mother said with a smile.

It has been said that "the only person in the world who can take everything on and end up forgetting about herself is often a mother."

No mother does not want her children to be well, so in the eyes of this old mother, as long as her son is safe and healthy, is her greatest joy and happiness, how is right?

This "self-righteousness" is the mother's unconditional concern and prayer, can not reason, can not ask the West.

Whether you are a president or a peasant

You are all good children of your mother

After Harry Truman was elected president of the United States, a friend congratulated his mother: "You must be very proud to have such a son!"

The president's mother said calmly, "Yes. But I have another son who is now digging potatoes in the field and makes me equally proud."

In today's society, people often evaluate a person by external labels such as social status and wealth as a yardstick.

In the opinion of the "self-righteous" mother, she does not force her child to do something amazing but just wants him to be a good and decent person, to be able to live a peaceful and happy life.

Her children, whether they are presidents or peasants, are her mother's good children, and there is no difference between high and low, no difference between inferiority and superiority. As long as they can support themselves with their own hands, she is happy.

Like Truman's mother, my 85-year-old mother was also a "self-righteous" mother.

My five brothers, I am the fifth in line, four brothers at home farming or working, only I through the college entrance examination to stay in the city, as a relatively stable job of civil servants.

But in my mother's eyes, we brothers are her favorite children, not because of the workers engaged in, the difference between urban and rural areas and treated differently; four brothers are also with their own hands to live a better life, also worthy of her pride.

The focus of my mother's attention on me and my four brothers is also the same, we all hope that we are a healthy, law-abiding, and happy family.

The fourth brother and I, who worked outside the home, called our mother once a week, and every time she told us both the same thing: work well and pay more attention to our health. She never asked me what my position or rank was.

After the death of my father, my mother became more aware of the importance of health, especially after the death of one of my elementary school classmates who died of an overdose of alcohol, my mother was even more worried about the health of our brothers, often exhorting me and my four brothers: "There is nothing wrong with the body is blessed, wine must be less, drunk is very harmful to the body."

He also often admonished me and my four brothers: "Life is thicker than cow hair, two people have to talk properly, do not quarrel, more to bear."

This kind of "self-righteous", equal and unbiased care and advice, I am afraid that only the world's mother can do.

There is a kind of motherly love, called "self-righteousness"

In the article "After you came, I was never alone again", the writer Li Yue said to her son.

I love you, there are no conditions. Whether you are good or mediocre. You can be bright or dull. I love you whether you have the world at your fingertips or are alone in your humble abode. The reason I brought you into this world is to let you feel love. Anyone can not love you, but I can not. If I don't love you, God forbid.

There is a kind of motherly love, called "self-righteousness".

This "self-righteousness" is Bing Xin's mother's answer to her question "Mom, why do you love me?": "No reason, because you are my daughter.

This kind of "self-righteousness" is what the mother of Yang Yu, the young director of the movie "Nezha", said when everyone denied him: "Son, I believe you can do it."

This "self-righteousness" is later known for "Mr. Bean" Rowan Atkinson after the world's famous "Mr. Bean", his mother said to him after all the setbacks: "Every flower has a chance to open.

Every flower has a chance to open, those who have not yet opened, just not in season. So do people. Everyone has a chance to succeed, but you just haven't met the right time yet.

This "self-righteousness" is Edison was asked by his teacher to withdraw from school, his mother said to him on the way home: "The teacher praised you greatly, said the school teacher can no longer teach you, let me teach you, we will study at home."

This kind of "self-righteousness", not shaken by various external standards and evaluation of children's views, is full of love, it gives children healthy growth inexhaustible nutrients, and motivation.

In this day and age, this kind of "self-righteous" motherly love is rare and worthy of promotion and encouragement.

Hats off to such "self-righteous" mothers!

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Phil Holzer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.