Families logo

The great outdoors

There’s nothing more soul cleansing then dirt, dust, air, sun, air oh wait I said air but I mean fresh air lungs screaming with happiness fresh air and enjoying it with my family is the only thing in life to touch down an keep away from all the craziness in the world at the moment

By Kristie PhelpsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Life on a leaf!

This day was incredible just before COVID 19 came along to slow us all down an tuck ourselves away in our safe nest, we took a drive to Bowral stopped for lunch at a local cafe and then took a walk along a walking track along the river, the sun was warm and amazing it was quiet and so peaceful, until on the Walking track we came across a massive brown snake that put us all in a panic.

It took a little while to decide weather to go back or continue, to walk back around to the car it would’ve taken me at least two hours if I didn’t continue it was a hard decision but my partner was over the other side of the snake path and with a lot of discussion I picked up my daughter and ran to him, then went back to get my boy there is that many things I’m scared of when it comes to bushwalking but to meet a snake like that I can say I was quite terrified my daughters only eight it was heading right towards her she wasn’t very far away I just grabbed her to run back my son is 12 he was maybe 10 steps behind me it all happened so fast but I can still remember how terrified I felt a scene it’s had come up and it was full pelt heading towards my daughter,Maybe we shouldn’t have taken that walk along the river bank I remember we started over the other side the reason we turned back and went the other way was because we come across a big redbelly black snake it was pretty thick would’ve been as thick as my arm I tried to take a photo but it was gone before I got it so just maybe this was a warning not to keep going anyway, such is life it was a great day

After all this the kids wanted to play at the park upon the river bank, so we stopped to let them breathe laugh and forget about the scariness of what was, to see this all on one leaf made me appreciate life an the outdoors !!

Funny how you can remember small things when telling a story whilst the kids were playing at the park my daughter started doing yoga with the swing it was quite funny we had passer buys tell us how cute it was one lady asked if she could take a video because she thought it was quite gorgeous I did tell her no thanks!

So now I’m hoping that everyone will do what is right and just stay at home if you’re sick this coronavirus has stopped everything life is boring without being able to go outside, being able to travel I mean Bowral is not far from home but I won’t go there until this coronavirus is gone.
It’s funny how there are so many people that think it won’t happen to them but the sad fact of the matter is the more you ignore it all the more you stick your head in the sand you just never know what’s around the corner and if all we have to do is stay at home Shouldnt this past faster, We used to quite often go out bushwalking just before coronavirus hit we also went for a walk along the mountain heading towards Batemans Bay we walked for hours it was amazing I have a lot of photos that I could add to this but I had to choose just one isn’t it awesome to just get out there and take a photo.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Kristie Phelps

I’m 37 years old love life an my family live in goulburn and happy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.