Families logo

The Girl Who Lost Her Mother

My Story

By Hope OsiemiPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

"Mommy, why did you leave me?" was something I said to myself each and every day. I never thought that something so horrible could ever happen to me; but yet it did. The last time something bad happened to me was Hurricane Katrina. I was 5 at the time, but I never really thought about it. I never thought about how we had to leave our home in New Orleans and move to Texas. I never thought about how my father had lost his job, and my mother had to find another college to attend. Why? Because I was naïve. It wasn't until she left me that I woke up. That's when I knew that everything wasn't perfect in this world. That's when I knew, that my life wouldn't be all smiles.

I was only 11 when she left. Around that time I was bright girl with bright dreams. I never paid any attention to my mother, who was casually getting sicker by the minute. I went with her to the doctor's office, but I was so clueless. It wasn't until she dropped dead in front of me; that was when I knew. It wasn't until I held her in my arms while I begged God to bring her back to us. When I did CPR in hopes that she would wake up, but she never did. When I heard my father sobbing when the nurse said she was gone. It wasn't until then that I realized reality.

My two brothers, two little boys. One was 6 and one was only 3 years old; still in diapers. The 3 year old would run to the front door each and every day; and put his hands on the glass door, waiting. The 6 year old used his pain and succeeded in his studies. What did I do? My grades dropped. Each and every day I would contemplate killing myself. I would even overdose on my vitamins, just so I could go. Why wasn't I stronger back then? Why did I let myself get so depressed? A once carefree outgoing girl became a socially awkward mess.

My father, my poor father. I always wondered how he felt when his wife was dead right in front of him; all I heard were the screams. I never blamed him for the way he treated me after she died. Even after he beat me, I would blame myself. I knew he just could deal with his wife being gone; he wanted to die too.

One thing I can be thankful for is that I didn't take my own life. If I did, I wouldn't have seen how my life turned out. Losing my mother at such a young age had an impact on my life; an impact that me being 18 now is thankful for. If I didn't lose her, I'd still be that selfish little girl that didn't care about people's issues. I went from begging God to bring her back, to thanking him for letting her go. And yes, my grades went back to A's; my father is much happier; and I'm able to smile again.

grief
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.