Families logo

The Gift Of Life

How I Was Saved

By Amanda J MollettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Eighteen years ago I had a baby he was little four pound premature little bundle of joy. I thank every my mom and I thank God for him every day for my son . See, I think that he was a gift and I am glad that even though he was born prematurely he ended up being a really healthy baby. Now he is eighteen and I do not think that I would ever really truly know what love was if he had not of come into my life when he did In many ways my son saved my life. I honestly believe that my mother whenever she passed away she became an angel and she became my guardian angel and I believe that she gave me my son as a way of saving my life .

When I say my son saved my life. I mean he literally and completely saved my life. If it was not for me being pregnant with my son I do not know where I would be today. I do not know if I would be here at all today or not. I would have never met him .I would have never met my daughter. I would have never met my husband . I would have never graduated high school .

Now let me be clear. I did not have my son when I was fourteen years old or fifteen years old . When my mom was sick I was a sophomore in high school and my mom was real sick and I missed a lot of school because of some medical issues that I had and because of my mom. Sometimes I just did not even want to go to school . I had to make myself go to school sometimes I just wanted to be with her to take care of her.

I wanted to do anything for her that I could do .I had like some medical issues of my own so I missed too much school and they kicked me out . My mom was really upset about this and I wanted to stay home and just take care of my mom and not worry about school well my mom on the other hand wanted me back in school. Sometimes I look back at that and I wonder if she thought that I just dropped out of school just so I could take care of her and that made her upset . That is not what happened . I hope that she knows that . I was going to school whenever she got sick and and after she died is when I actually graduated I wish I could have graduated whenever she was still here because I know she would have loved to see that . I would have loved for her to be able to see that. she never got to see either one of her daughters graduate high school , but after she died I went back to school I found this program that I liked called graduation recovery .

Since I had already had my son whenever I found this place it was perfect. It was some place that I could go to school and I could take my son to school with me and he could sit there with me and color or play or whatever while I did my school work.

I could actually take books home and study at home so I can take care of my kid and do it at the same time and be the mom that had it all . I did graduate. I graduated two years later, but I graduated. If it was not for my son I do not know if I would have.

 

 

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.