Families logo

The Final Days

My Point of View

By hoogins .Published 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
1lb 10oz feet

PART ONE

May 5th, 2018

It all started after he left. I mean, it started way before that, but that's another chapter for another time. My body was shaking, and my heart beating obnoxiously fast. The echoes of the ever-so-quick conversation replaying in my head, as I sat at the kitchen table.

Before he showed up unannounced I was enjoying ice cream with my two children. At a moment's notice, I see a red car pull up at the front, and heard the car doors slam shut and thought, "Oh shit."

The guy, the father of my son, lived an hour and a half away. He drove a long way to ask me why I was ignoring him and why I was distant. You see, at the time I was about six months pregnant, and a day or so before, we were in an argument when he lashed out and said he would take my child away from me and take him out of the country when he's born. That is why I was ignoring him, and that is why I kept my distance. I did not want to communicate with a man who said awful things and made, what I thought was, a serious threat. The conversation lasted about 10 minutes. I tried to be calm and explain myself while he sat there looking like he was anxiously waiting to say something. It was his turn to respond and he started to raise his voice, but my brother wasn't having it and kicked him out.

My heart became so heavy, it was troublesome to breath, and it took a moment to gather my thoughts. I'm the kind of person who does not show emotion right off the bat, I process it all in my head first, then I break in private. It felt as if I was losing control of everything, and I broke down in my mother's bathroom. I stood over the sink crying, looking into the mirror asking myself why I put up with this.

Constant text alerts going off on the side from the baby's father, asking why was I so difficult and why I was so childish. I chose to ignore them for the most part because I did not want it to escalate any further. There were numerous calls that I immediately dismissed. Did I want to speak to the guy who is cursing at me, telling me I'm a horrible person? No. I answered once to tell him to leave me alone, and that's when he snapped, his voice raised so high that the sound was distorted through the phone. Mid-sentence, I hung up. I was completely torn and for a moment I couldn't get myself under control.

After a while, I composed myself before anyone could see and start asking the tough questions. My eyes were puffy, red, and watery, but at least I had my breathing under control. I sat in the chair next to the dresser rubbing my baby bump and apologized for all of the commotion. It was then that I realized the lack of usual movement.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

hoogins .

Just your average mother with 24 years of life experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.