Families logo

The Dragon Beside Me

A Tribute to a Remarkable Woman

By Faceless LimPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like
The Dragon Beside Me
Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

In the year of the Dragon 2024, as the world celebrates International Women's Day, I find myself reflecting on the incredible women who have inspired and shaped my life. One woman, in particular, stands out as a beacon of strength, love, and determination – my cherished grandmother. This extraordinary woman, who embodies the spirit of the dragon, has been my guiding light through the ups and downs of life's journey.

Born into a modest family in a small village, my grandmother grew up during a time of great hardship and uncertainty. Despite the challenges she faced, her passion for learning and her unwavering determination to create a better life for herself and her family were evident from a young age. She worked tirelessly to support her family while pursuing her education, often studying late into the night by the flickering light of a kerosene lamp.

Her relentless pursuit of knowledge and her dedication to helping others eventually led her to become a respected teacher in her community. She touched the lives of countless students, instilling in them the importance of education and encouraging them to dream big. My grandmother's love for learning and her commitment to making a difference in the world were truly inspiring.

As a child, I was enchanted by my grandmother's stories of her youth and the many challenges she overcame. Her unwavering spirit, resilience, and ability to find joy in even the most difficult circumstances left a lasting impression on me. She was a real-life dragon – strong, powerful, and fiercely protective of those she loved.

Her wisdom and guidance have been invaluable throughout my life. One particular instance that stands out in my memory is when I faced a significant setback in my career. Feeling lost and uncertain, I turned to my grandmother for advice. With her gentle wisdom and unfailing belief in my abilities, she reminded me that setbacks are a natural part of life's journey. She shared her own struggles and encouraged me to view them as opportunities for growth and resilience.

Drawing strength from my grandmother's words, I was able to persevere and ultimately emerge stronger and more determined than ever before. Her unwavering support and belief in my potential have been a constant source of inspiration. She has shown me that with determination, resilience, and a positive attitude, anything is possible.

My grandmother's influence on my life extends beyond her wise words and unwavering support. She has also modeled the importance of empathy, compassion, and kindness. Her generosity and unwavering dedication to helping those in need have inspired me to make a difference in the world.

As I reflect on my grandmother's life and the many ways she has inspired me, I am filled with gratitude for the lessons she has taught me and the unconditional love she has provided. This International Women's Day, I honor my grandmother – a true dragon beside me – and celebrate the extraordinary women who have been beside us on our own life journeys.

My grandmother's story is a powerful reminder that each of us has the power to change the world, just as she has changed mine. Her unwavering strength, boundless love, and enduring determination continue to inspire me to be the best version of myself. On this day, I encourage others to embrace the dragon within – a symbol of strength, love, and resilience – and to celebrate the remarkable women who have made a difference in our lives.

As we honor these extraordinary women, let us remember that the true essence of the dragon lies within each of us. By harnessing our inner strength, embracing our passions, and supporting one another, we can create a brighter future for all. This International Women's Day, let us honor the past, celebrate the present, and work together to build a better tomorrow.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Faceless Lim

Our anonymous writer uses storytelling to share their life experiences, giving voice to the unheard.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.