Families logo

THE DEVIL DON'T WANT ME!

And God's Not Ready For Me!

By SummahLuv TownsleyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Sarah Frances Patricia Ann Lingard Alston.... Whew... Now That's A Name! A very long name!  The woman who carried all of these names was an amazing woman. Sarah was the Wife of a Pastor... gave birth to 7 children but raised 9 children... a grandmother... a great southern cook... an awesome Singer! She was an Ole Fashioned, southern girl from Varnville SC. But most of all, My Mom, Sarah was amazing for amazing sayings!  One of my very favourite sayings of her's was, "The Devil Don't Want You, And God's Not Ready For You!" What did she mean by that? Keep reading! Born October 06, 1941 and died from breast cancer on March 30, 1993. Unfortunately, she died before she could enjoy her great grandchildren! Her love, laughter, sense of humour and 'Amazing Sayings' will always be remembered and missed!

I am the 3rd of 9 children. I have 2 brothers and 6 sisters. But, for most of my childhood years, 5 of us grew up together in one household with by mom and dad. The rest of my siblings came along later (now that's another story). Growing up in a musically, talented home was exciting.  But, growing up in a large family, there was a lot of laughter, love, fun, practical jokes & pranks, and yes a lot of Teasing!  If we tripped or fell, she would laugh with her hearty laugh and say, "Oh... get up! You're OK!" Now of course she always checked

to make sure that we did not have one of the 3 B's... Bumps, Blood and/or Bruises! However, if there was, of course,  Bumps, Blood and/or Bruises, she addressed it right away

with all of the TLC (Tender Loving Care) that was needed. Mom always made sure we were taking care of... PERIOD! She often said,  "What don't kill you will make you stronger!" She my never lied about that! Ok, so maybe my mom's humour was a little twisted, but it did make me the strong woman, independent woman with a great sense of humour that I am today! My mom had a heart of gold and a hardy laugh that would light up the world! Yes, she was funny and my very best friend in the world!

At the age of 59 years old, for as far back as I could remember, I was the child who cried for every little thing. Big or Small... I would cry!  If you touched my toys I would cry! If you ate my food I would cry! If you teased me, I would cry! Because I was emotional and sensitive, anything you said to me would make me cry!  Everything made me what? Cry! Raising 6 girls, why is it that my mom never learned how to do little girls hair? She had 4 sisters! Didn't they practice doing each other's hair? I guess not! So... Guess What? I'm sure your guess is right! I often Cried before going to school because I didn't like the way she did my hair! And of course she would say, "Stop that Crying before I give you something to Cry about!" Oh, you better believe that we each (me and all of my sisters) learned how to do my hair at an early age! That's what sisters are for... To Practice Doing Each Other's

Hair! I cried so much, that my mom nicknamed me her 'Big Bag of Water'! As I would sit off to the side (often in a corner or on my bed), crying about small little silly things. And then my mother would say to me, " Who Bothered My Big Bag of Water?" or "What's Wrong With My Big Bag of Water?" With a great big ole smile on her face and a snug, loving hug. Of course we laughed about it as we got older!  And that is because it was done without the feeling of bullying, hatred, neglect or ill treatment!  Now don't get me wrong,  My mom was a strong woman who had no problems with addressing a situation if we were wrongfully treated; inside and outside of the home!

As I entered my preteen and teen years, the tears slowed down. However, now there were physical growing pains... in my head!  It was always, "Mommy, my back hurt!" "Mommy, my head hurt!" "Mommy, I don't feel well!" Mommy... Mommy... Mommy... Complain... Complain... Complain! But no matter how hard my mom laughed, I was that child that refused to let go of her apron straps!  And because I was older, I was starting to find some of her little slick sayings funny and really kind of cool! Because she knew her child (actually all of her children) when I would say, "Mommy... my back hurt!", My mom would say, "Girl, you ain't gotta back! You gotta gristle!" And that always made me laugh!  And, when I left she laughed even harder!

Now as an adult, a whole grown adult women, I have been

through so many traumatic injuries. I sustained a concussion, inflammation of the spine,  A job related injury

that left me with herniated disc,  sciatica (gave birth to a 10 pound 1 oz 22" long son),  Bit by a pit bull on my right foot, Hit by a car, WTC911 Survivor, Covid Survivor,  Carpal tunnel, and Condra Malaysia in both knees!  As if that is not enough, I am alopecia frontal, diabetic (on insulin) with high blood pressure.   And as a result of WTC911, I am PTSD, with anxiety and asthma! And did I happen to mention that I survived homelessness? Really?  Even though my mom is not here to laugh with me, I still laugh and talk to her. I say, "Mom, now I really understand what you meant by... The Devil Don't Want Me And God Is Not Ready For Me! It really did make me a struggle women! I am a survivor for a reason!  Through my trials, heartaches, tears and pain, I wake up every morning knowing that I have another chance at life!  So many has lost their lives to some of the things that I have gone through and experienced... But Still I Stand and Live! I live to see another day! I live to give back! And it is only evident that my mother was right, "The Devil Didn't Want Me And God Is STILL Not Ready For Me!

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

SummahLuv Townsley

I am SummahLuv..., mom, speaker, Host/MC, entrepreneur, networker, Full Figured Model, alopecia, retired USPS, WTC/911 survivor, survived homelessness, statistical Covid survivor, hit by a car, bit by a PITBULL, #MeToo, A LivingTestamony!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.