Families logo

The Courtyard

Nature meets Nurtured Kids

By Trycia LinoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Squirrel

My hand reaches for the wand that hangs down the side of the blinds. Grabbing and pushing the stick each panel of the covering slides overlapping one another until the way is opened to the world outside the glass doors. Vivid colors start to come into focus. Blinking I adjust my eyes to the light. I open them again and beautiful hues of blues and tints of green with rays of light are complemented by the shades of browns, reds, and yellows that make up the trees from the court yard. Plants that grow on the ground bring all of the colors to full circle. As I look up into the tree there is a nest far up in the branches, then I see something move. I watch as the animal comes into view. At first it is just a streak of greyish brown, but then I can start to see the shape form into a squirrel. It has a fluffy tale with its agile little body. It scurries further down the branch. I need to take the shot on a camera. It is a good thing I brought my phone out with me to the deck. I love to take pictures in nature. It helps me remember the feelings I have as I see the scenes.



Nest

There is a light breeze that blows into the space and I can see the leaves sway in the air as the coolness of the ocean that is close by brings a sweet smell of salt and freshness. I decide to sit out on the patio and take it all in. The wicker rockers with the blue cushions are soft and I melt into the seat. I settle in to a nice tranquil vibe. A blue and white fluffy rug lay on the ground to keep my feet from the cold cement.

As I rock back and forth I look high up in the tree, and find the nest again. I wish to see what kind of bird would create such a large nest so high in the tree. I notice more nests in the other trees of the court yard. I can not see into the nests, but they are well made with twigs and materials from the courtyard. In the sky above I see a bird. It looks like a raven with its dark and streamlined body.

Some time passes and another bird darts by. This one looks like a hawk or falcon. I watch the bird as it soars through the sky. They are majestic high above the earth soaring.

Courtyard full of trees to keep it shady

I am out on the patio alone for ten minutes before I hear the door slide open. My son smiles at me, "There you are mom". I am caught. My alone time is done. I decide to sit with him for a moment. "Let's play the quiet game", I said to him. I wanted to see how much longer I could keep this moment. "OK mom", he said as he got excited about a new game. As I started to explain the rules to him his excitement diminished. "I don't like this game", he said as he starts to jump on the little trampoline that is on the patio.

Looking up at my son a new picture started to immerge. Rays of light come down and surround my son. This picture below was taken at that moment. It reminds me how precious his life is. Being able to have this moment was precious to me. I hear the glass door open and see my husband and other son coming out to join us. I share with him the picture. My heart swells inside and I cry with a sweet joy as I know they are mine to nurture and help grow just like the light nurtures the trees and leaves.

Moments of joy

Pure Happiness

.

In this moment the picture was complete. My time of silent reflection was over. I will get another moment in the future, but each moment is unique and special.

My family is my whole picture of what I would draw if asked to tell the world what the most important idea or thing that I got from the time I have been in Shelter at Home. My husband and children are the ones who will be their for me through all the lock down times of life.

Nature is always a constant as well. And like my family will change with time the world to will change. There will be changes in life as we move to a new home or state, but the courtyard will be a part of my life and the way that my family received fresh air and tranquil moments during this time of the shut down.

As they say Carpe Diem. Seize the day. I would add seize each moment. Remember kindness and love. Sometimes it’s the simple things we need at the moment to connect us to the world outside, and then if we find that connection share the experience with someone else and help them connect to life. It’s a new and scary one at times but it’s an adventure waiting for us to embrace.

Beauty is found each day share it

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Trycia Lino

Trycia has a BS in Sociology and Gerontology. Her MAED in Counseling and a ABD PhD in Edication. She is the Author The Guardian of Machu Picchu Elixir of Life.

She is married to an amazing man Daniel, and has two amazing boys.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.