Families logo

The Charm that Unlocked Her Heart

A Powerful Story of My Great Grandmother’s Fearless Influence on Me

By Christina MinneciPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

One day while visiting my great grandmother she pulled out a big envelope that jingled in her hands as if it was filled with bells. What was in this magical envelope?

“I have a gift for you girls,” GG shared with cheer in her voice.

She began to pull out three gold bracelets that were covered in the most beautiful charms. So that explains the jingle! The charms dazzled in the light as our young hearts beamed with joy at these pretty new toys.

“They are not toys,” GG explained. “These are very special bracelets that your mother will keep in this envelope until you are old enough to appreciate them.”

“I got a new charm in every country I went to and I want you girls to remember me by all the places I’ve been. One day when I’m not here I hope you wear these bracelets with pride and remember how your GG traveled the world.”

To three young girls who barely left the bounds of their backyard, this beautiful world that GG spoke of, home the glittering charms seemed like a far off fantasy land. Their eyes gazed in amazement as the light of day bounced off the charms and into their hearts.

The big world GG spoke of amazed me. As I grew older my curiosity grew and grew. And then I started to see this world with my own eyes and nothing was the same. GG treated all her great grandchildren to a nine-year-old trip. She made it her mission to share her passion for traveling and inspire the hearts and minds of her family.

When I turned nine we traveled to Puerto Rico to embark on a Royal Caribbean cruise. Our first night on board the ship, still disheveled in our traveling clothes, we sat down at the bar for a drink. She instructed me to order a virgin strawberry daiquiri and the bar tender prompted appeared with a bubbling drink topped with a big straw and a cherry.

I sat at the bar with my backpack on sipping my daiquiri and GG asked “don’t I feel like a grown up?” The truth was I did! I never experienced such lavish things before and being on this ship itself was a huge treat to me.

As we made our way to our destined cruise ports, I began to see a new world that was so much more exciting than my backyard! St. Thomas, St. Martin, Aruba. I had never seen such sights before. As we made our way through downtown Curacao the vibrant colors of the houses astounded me!

When I returned from the cruise I confronted my mom with a powerful question. “How could Santa possibly get to all the children’s houses in one night to deliver their presents? It took us two days to get from one island to the next. It’s just not possible, mom. It doesn’t make sense.”

My tired mother, slightly aggravated at my undying curiosity quickly gave in and said I was right. “Santa is not alive anymore,” she said. “There was once a Santa Clause but he passed away and now all the moms and dads do his job and bring presents to their children.”

“You are right but don’t tell your little sister,” she said. “You’ll spoil the magic of Christmas.”

Although I was proud of my findings, my little mind started to unravel and I began to question all the other things I believed in my life to be true. And as my understanding of the world grew, my curiosity grew too.

I carried this curiosity with me throughout my life and jumped at any opportunity to explore what there was to see. GG’s stories of the magical world out there always remained in my heart and I itched to know what the beauty of her charms were all about.

The next opportunity came when I was in high school and I was invited to a People to People Student Ambassador trip. This Mediterranean Odyssey was to travel to Malta, Italy and France in the summer before my junior year. GG put her money where her mouth is and sponsored part of the trip’s tuition. With all my whit and charm, God’s grace and the gracious assistance of my family and friends, I was able to raise the remaining funds and my trip date was set.

As time approached for me to leave on the trip, a fluttering grew in my stomach that was both nervousness and excitement. I was anxious to leave the country for the first time. My parents hardly ever traveled and I was breaking ground with this new adventure. As much as I was nervous, there was an undeniable force in me that knew it was time to see the world.

The little eager girl in me was more than ready to jet set and see what the unknown world held. I took off, accompanied by forty other students from the area and our delegate leaders. I was a shy girl in school and didn’t have many friends, but things in our delegation were different.

This was a new environment, free of judgement and connected with the common unease of leaving our comfort zones. I had no trouble making friends and in the three weeks away, all of the 6 boys had a crush on me at some point. The sweet, curious, adventurous and happy side of me shined, that was otherwise tucked away during the everyday woes of my life at home.

I spread my wings and began to fly, for the very first time.

My great grandma is the most inspirational woman to me. Without her, these stories and so many more would not be possible. She is the wind under my wings and I hope to make her so proud one day.

At 101 years old GG is still alive and well. She doesn't dream to go to Rome anymore, because she knows she's lived it all. She is at peace knowing she's lived a full life. This is how I want to live- so fully that when my days come to a gentle close I'm not wishing about all my could've-beens.

She's shown me there is so much to experience in life and it’s mine for the taking. A simple charm bracelet that I was given as a kid holds such a special place in my heart and reminds me there is so much beauty in the world for those who want to see.

My hope is to continue living fully and adding charms to the bracelet of my life. My journey is just beginning and I know GG will be with me the whole way- even when she is no longer here physically.

Thank for your inspiring my journey.

Thank you for igniting the passion in my heart.

Thank you for the charms that started it all!

extended family
1

About the Creator

Christina Minneci

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.