Families logo

The chair

my journey....

By Jacqueline PaynePublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1
The chair
Photo by Randy Fath on Unsplash

I stood tall in the middle of Maize's back yard garden of her Victorian home in Chandon Nagar ,India.My sturdy trunk supported a foliage of luscious green leaves on very shapely branches with supple stems that stretched out over a wide circumference, enough to shade a good area of soft grass beneath me in the hot summer days.I was taken back in time to how I got to be so healthy and beautiful.

I belonged to Mr. Robert Goodman a retired general in the Indian army ,and Maize's great grand pa.He was a well respected gentleman and liked by all. His friend and co worker Sargent. Major Right, visited him on his 50th birthday gifting him with a little sapling of an Oak tree,mee!

Robert was very passionate about gardening and took good care of his home and yard.On accepting his best birthday gift, he strolled out to the back yard and began gazing around searching for a spot to plant me,and there it was the very spot in the middle , where I stand right now.I was taken care of very well and cherished ,which made me feel loved and safe and as you can see I am stunningly gorgeous..and say it with great pride to be part of this beautiful family..

One evening as I stood there enjoying the breeze looking at life passing me by, I could feel the movement of my branches , rather strongly waving hither and thither..it became even stronger as the day went by....suddenly a bolt of lightening and the loud rumble of thunder took over the sky .Looking upward I could see those big black rain filled heavy and bulging clouds, waiting to burst onto the earth beneath them..I was a bit excited as it had been a pretty hot day although, I was concerned about the lightening as it can be fatal at times.I felt the first drops of the cold and soothing rain,beginning to go from a pitter patter to a strong and engulfing shower, covering every part of my existence making me feel fresh and rejuvenated when, out of no where there was another big bolt of lightening and thunder and it happened...just the thing I was fearing...one of my stronger and higher up branches was struck by lightening ,severing it from my trunk, crashing to the ground beneath me,with a loud,"THUD!!!"

It was painful and I was devastated and heart broken, not for myself but for what Robert and his beautiful wife Nancy would feel,since they both nurtured me together and were very proud of their achievement in how I turned out to look.

As the night fell and things became calm and quiet again, I awoke to the little nestlings chirping , nestled in their warm and cosy nest between my strong branches, as if saying to me, "wake up ..its a brand new day".The warmth of the gorgeous rising sun in the east lit me up giving me a heavenly glow, making me look even more luscious as all my leaves were a fresh bright green now...and then I remembered my severed limb...Ohh! no!

I heard the rattle of the bolt on Roberts front door and saw him open it, smiling as he admired me from afar,which was not for long..the color from his face drained and he began running towards me ....stopping in his tracks,he came to a dead stop as his bare feet touched the big branch that lay there before him..Hands on his head ..he looked toward me and said.."I am so sorry, but I promise I will make it up to you stepping forward he give me a hug and kissed my trunk gently.

Bending over carefully, aware of his aching back he tried to pick my severed limb off the grass...in vain it was too heavy for him to do on his own.Robert walked back toward his home in a slow and helpless manner, disappearing in through the door and re appearing with Maize by his side,a tall ,strong and beautiful lady ,just like himself.

She was upset too and mentioned how it would make her great grand mother , unhappy too.I heard their conversation and recognized how much I meant to them and a feeling of gratefulness came over me.I was so blessed!

As they carried a part of me carefully with alot of their strength and effort I wondered what would become of my limb.....wondering if it would end up as fire wood or something else. As they say curiosity kills the cat..I had to stop myself or it would drive me crazy...

A week or two went by and I could hear alot of sounds like the sound of the wood saw,hammering of the hammer and spraying sound as if when you are spray painting..I was beginning to imagine what Robert was doing so intently...eventually my wait was going to be over soon.

It was a beautiful Sunday morning and once again I heard the front door to this Victorian home open...Robert stood in the door way something in hand..as he walked nearer to me I could see now what he was up to.It was a beautiful white semi lawn chair, as gorgeous as ever, made with alot of skills, toil hard work and love.On placing this magnificent piece of wood work I could see how wonderfully Robert kept his promise.He used my severed limb to make a comfortable chair .When he was sure of the position of placing it he walked back and emerged with his gorgeous wife now an old and ailing lady.Nancy had been suffering form Alzheimer's and became unaware of things more often.This absolutely broke the family emotionally, especially Robert's as she was his best friend and life partner.

Holding Nancy close around the shoulder, with his firm grip he walked her towards me and as they approached closer I heard him say," Happy Birthday , darling, I made this chair for you" They stopped for a bit as Robert leaned over and gave Nancy a gentle kiss on he lips as she squeezed his hand lovingly replying," Thank you! my love. It is gorgeous. I just love it!"

Proceeding forward, he ushered her into this comfortable chair and she sank herself into it,when Robert went behind my trunk and brought out another gift wrapped in beautiful silver wrapping paper, handing it to Nancy. As she unwrapped her gift carefully with her feeble hands, I could see what was inside. A beautiful silks turquoise cushion.I saw the twinkle in her eyes, after a long time and felt so completely in bliss for the both of them.Robert leaned over and whispered to Nancy ," you rest my love, I will go fix you a nice cool drink,be back in a bit"

As Robert headed back to the house, Nancy leaned her head on the back of the chair and stretched her legs out in front of her,kicking off her bedroom slippers gently,placing the soft cushion on her lap and hands crossed on her chest..she closed her eyes and fell of into a deep sleep.I could literally feel her comfort at that moment ripple right through me.

I admired her beautiful ageing lines on her pale face and began to remember when she was a young vivacious woman, picnicking along with their young children and husband, then a handsome strong man.There were many a happy moments spent under me in my shade with laughter, tears, fun, friends and loads of great conversation...if only I could speak....My little journey back in time was broken with the sound of Robert, softly asking Nancy to wake up, as he had made her her favorite drink, a tall glass of lemonade.....yum! looked so good.

I began to notice there was something was wrong when Robert reached out to touch Nancy's crossed hand,it fell in slow motion to the side of her, slouching her body to the left as her head tilted backward ,lifeless...He fell to ground beside her and broke into a wail of sorrowful tears...Yes, Nancy had passed peacefully while sitting right under me in a chair made from me by her beloved love..

I was heart broken to see this sight and did not know how to comfort Robert..I was so helpless..although I could see a calmness on Nancy's face as if saying ..I am happy..all will be well..

As the day went by and I stood there alone for a time.."The chair" sitting vacant and getting dusty...I wondered if I would ever see Robert again..just then I saw him emerge ..he looked older than before and I could see the pain in his eyes..caressing every part of the chair,trying to graple with the reality of loosing Nancy, he finally slumped his body into it and cried for a good long while. Wiping his eyes he looked up to me and said softly.."Thank you!"

It was then that I realized my wish to help comfort him was fulfilled..It was a year now and things were getting back to normal ...the laughter, chatter, picnics and fun came back again as family and friends gathered to chill beneath me..I was contented once again and proud to be part of this beautiful "CHAIR"

Written by

jaki Payne

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.