Families logo

The Cabins in Georgia.

They became a huge part of me, all the way to Florida.

By Danielle FairchildPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Father Holding me a little while after January of 1995.

During my childhood, I was very blessed. I saw that then, I just understand it more now.

I had a mother who cared for our home in the most patient of ways. She catered to us and cleaned. She spent a large amount of time involving herself in my school events and field trips, extracurricular activities, and hobbies.

I was blessed.

I had a father who worked hard, literally broke his back, and loved his family strongly. He taught me things I wouldn't have learned without him, not easily. He taught me how to fish and use a hammer. He taught me how to hunt and make things with my hands. He taught me about the woods and the creatures and inhabitants that lie inside. He even taught me how to play chess. My dad never struck me as a chess player, but he taught me how it was played. I remember one time when I was about seven or eight years old, My uncle Mike, my 0dads brother, had bought or maybe been gifted an extremely nice glass chessboard with glass pieces to match. I was young so I don't remember exactly where it came from, but I remember wanting to play, and my uncle telling me I was probably too young to grasp the concept of the game, which lead to my dad saying, "oh really?", without saying, "oh really?", and teaching me to play chess on his chessboard.

I still remember how to play chess but I don't remember where that beautiful chessboard came from.

Anyways, my dad is passed away now, since 2008 when I was thirteen years old. He left behind numerous amounts of information and memories when he left. Things I am blessed to still remember and hold dear to me.

I was blessed.

I grew up with both of my parents, and I was blessed.

One of the most fondest of memories in my childhood time with them both, was the cabins in Georgia.

My dad started taking us to vacation at a place called Buck Creek Cabins In Jackson, Georgia. It was right in the same area as Highfalls and I believe I was around eight or nine years old when we started traveling there. We went there multiple times from the age of eight to thirteen. We took one of my best childhood friends Rebecca with us once and family members on occasion.

It was one of my favorite places to be, even though I didn't know it right away. My parents would let me explore the falls, safely, and walk down to the state water park, as well as shopping around at the local small businesses in between. There was, and still remains, an abandoned power plant behind the falls. It's really quite something if your into that kind of thing.

The place was just so memorable for me. My parents and I were together and making sweet memories for us to all keep.

When we woke up in the cabins, I could tell my dad felt refreshed, relaxed even, and for anyone who knew my father, knew that was hard for him to do most times. He would brew his morning coffee and let me go to the stores right in front of the cabins to get one of the cereal bowls, and later in the day he would grab us homemade fudge from the little candy and sweets store attached to it as well. There was a thrift store on the other side that my mom took to, and we all enjoyed walking around in together.

The state water park was a place for kids to run around, get on waterslides, and the parents could relax a bit. It was great too, but the falls were amazing. The falls and the cabins really had me. Between the water rushing, the lightning bugs, and no streetlights, making the view of the stars remarkable, is something I still understood the beauty in, even as a child.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Danielle Fairchild

I've been writing since I was in grade school. Poems, small articles, pieces to stories, and I'm finally getting around to wanting a platform to share my work on. I'm a mother, wife, writer, herbalist, and local bartender.

-Love Life. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Danielle Fairchild (Author)2 years ago

    It didn't publish a whole half of this article. 🥴

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.