Families logo

The Best Job Ever

A Day in the Life of...

By Greylee TynewisePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
All Rights to Greylee Tynewise

I love my job because each moment of each day brings a new adventure in my job. Some people do not consider my job an actual job since it does not bring in any income, rather it cost me money. Yet, others see my job as the hardest job on the planet. I am a mother, a mom, mommy, madre’ and mum, depending on which child you are asking. I have been mothering children for as long as I can remember. My own mother told me when I was very young that I was just born with a very nurturing heart. My very own personal journey of seeing just how much being a mother really entailed began with the birth of my very own child on March 7th, 1997. Prior to his birth I had been deceived in what all mothering entailed. However, I also learned the capacity of the human heart to love another human being more than you even love yourself and to feel that love reciprocated.

Being a mother is a hard task, yet it is so fulfilling. As a mother it is my responsibility to teach the child everything, they need to know to one day be on their own. Being a mother is so much more than just sitting around and playing with a kid, or making sure they are safe, it is teaching them and letting them get hurt sometimes to learn on their own. Mothering is opening yourself up to building everything in another human being for them to become the best version of themselves. With each new day and with each individual child everything is new and different daily. There is not an instruction guide on the correct way to parent any particular child and obstacles are put in the path of every plan you ever make for the child.

The job title of mother consists of more roles, duties, and responsibilities than any other job. As a mother you are a nurturer, a teacher, a housekeeper, laundry keeper, taxi, scheduler, secretary, a mentor, a counselor, a financial advisor, a janitor, record keeper, cheerleader and many more. At times you will be their best friend, and at other times you will be their worst enemy. Being a mother is a full time, forever job, that will not only build the future by grooming and molding another human being but teaches you a lot along the way.

Being a mother has taught me the true meaning of what love is. Becoming a mother gave me a whole new level of respect for my own mother and any woman that has faced the feat of motherhood; regardless of how they became a mother, whether through birthing, adoption, stepping up as a stepmom, or simply filling the mother role for children in need through fostering and such. Mothering is hard work. No matter how secure of a woman you are, when it comes to the job of mothering a ton of insecurities seem to creep inside of you. You gain fears you never know existed and have anxiety the size of the universe. You question every choice you make for the little human in your care and hope the decision you make is the one that is best for them and their future. When you have done all that you can to raise them right, like fed, clothed, provided shelter, instilled good values, morals, and standards in them, you, the mother, must face the scariest time of your life. You set your child free and hope they are safe. You hope that you did your job right and your child will make it on their own two feet.

With your own children now grown up, you finally get to see the results of years of hard work. With so much “free time” on your hands, no more pattering feet or others schedules to meet, you must discover who you are on your own, as a woman. No longer having to meet so many needs of anothers life, “who am I?”, becomes the weighing question on a mothers mind. Hold up, and just wait just a minute, don’t think your job is finished. Your job as a mother is never over and it only gets better from there. When your kids have their own kids, you also get a new gained title in your job as a mother, you get to be a grandmother, grandma, granny, g-ma, monga, gigi, mimi, or whatever special endearment the new little human in your life decides to call you. So, with that being said, yes, I love my job. I love getting to be a part of molding our future generations through motherhood.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Greylee Tynewise

I love my family with all that I am, but let's be real here, they are biased. I have always wanted to be a writer, to be able to share with the world my insanely crazy, way to erratic imagination, and I need your feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.