Families logo

The Beginning of Our Journey

Before we were married, or had our son, we were best friends first - he gave me all the best things in life, including the best first date.

By Megan MillerPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
The Beginning of Our Journey
Photo by Zane Persaud on Unsplash

We've been married for 11 years and I still remember the first date like it was yesterday. I'll never forget the how anxious I was that day. My palms were sweating and I didn't know what to wear. "I really like him, I just hope the date goes well." I thought to myself. First dates are always so nerve-racking. No matter how long you've known a person. I could be 5 minutes, or 5 years; when two people decide to upgrade their friendship and see what it's like to actually be a couple, it's not the same. My husband and I were already friends, and we had been for about a year.

I use to call him my "ducky." Yes, that's a "Pretty in Pink" reference. I'll admit, I friend-zoned him. He liked me since the very first day we met, but I just didn't feel that way. To tell you the truth, I liked his best friend during that time, and even when my crush for his best friend went away, he was still..."my ducky." He was my confidant, my gossiper, my late night "hang-outer." So now, a year in the making, we decided it's time to try out dating each other. The attraction for him started off very subtle. I was still dating someone else, and so was he, but as our relationships both ended, we grew closer.

Today's the day. I'm so nervous and again, I don't know what to wear. I'm also really self-conscious about my weight so if there's one thing I know for sure, I'll be wearing jeans. So I decided to where my slimming jeans, flower blouse that frills at the ends of the short sleeves, and wear my hair down. If there's one thing I liked about myself, it was my hair. Long brown strands, very fine, but so much of it. When I do my hair it's like a Loreal commercial.

Trace (that's his name by the way), arrived at my house around 7 pm. I should probably mention that he was supposed to pick me up at 6:30, but 30 minutes late is usual for him, so for me, he was "on time." When I open the door he's wearing jeans just like me, with a plain black polo. So simple, yet so sexy. He smiles at me. The type of grin that makes a person melt right then and there. "Hey." He says; a man of few words. "Hey back," I say, as I walk outside and close the door behind me.

As we get into his car, I asked "so where are we going?"

"It's a surprise," he says, while turning over the engine. My anticipation was killing me. We've known each other for a year now, so I secretly had high expectations because I wanted him to take me somewhere that meant something for us. Something symbolic.

By why kei on Unsplash

He starts driving East, and I'm already confused. From where we both lived, nothing was East. We lived on the far side of Las Vegas where the only thing that's East was just more houses, then the mountains. I chose not to ask any questions, because I had faith that there was a big elaborate plan that he had.

While we drove, he turns on "our songs." For the past year of our friendship, we picked out so many songs that were just "for us." Songs from Album Leaf, Blue October, Owl City, and The Flaming Lips. When we met, we didn't have a lot of music in common, so we found new music. New music to fall in love with together. As we got closer to our destination, I finally figured out where we were going.

By Jacob Stone on Unsplash

There's this hill located in the outskirts of Las Vegas. Only locals know about this place, mainly people that were born her, like me. We pull up to the hill, face the car out to the valley, and turn the car off. This hill was special because it's always been known as the "make out" hill. It was secluded, and people usually only came up there at night time to look at the Vegas lights, and get it on of course.

As we sat in the car, listening to our music, I looked over at him and smiled. "You know my so well" I softly stated, while still gazing out at the city. He did it, and he did it so well. He took me to the one place that he knew I would love. For our date, I didn't need a fancy restaurant or expensive dinner plates. I just wanted to be somewhere that made me happy. He reaches in the back seat, and picks up a basket. "Oh no he didn't.." I thought to myself. Yes, it was a picnic basket. He pulls out what looks like a wine glass, with wine already in it but with a plastic top, along with two turkey and cheese sandwiches, and bbq chips (my favorite). He holds the pre-made glass of Merlot, and twists off the top.

By Apolo Photographer on Unsplash

"Come on, let's get out of the car," he says, while still holding the wine glass. We both get out of the car and as we sit up on the hood of is car, sipping our "made to order" wine, leaning up against each other, while still gazing out to the city. "This is the best date I've ever had," I thought to myself. I was so happy and nervous all at the same time, I hadn't even noticed how little we were talking. Most of our date was compiled of beautiful music and scenery to enjoy; but that was us. We didn't need to fill the room with deep conversations or phones to pass the time.

We sat there on the hill for what felt like forever, in a good way; eating, drinking and enjoying the car stereo while watching the Las Vegas lights. After we ate we talked for a while, joking around about dumb things that happened at work, or what's going on at home. We just talked like we always did.... like I always did, with my "Ducky." The date ended around 11 pm, and he dropped me back off at home. When he walked me to the door, I was about to say the traditional "thank you... I had a really good time." But I never got the chance. When we walked up to the door he lifted my chin up his his finger, held my face ently, and kissed me. The kind of kiss that you wish could last forever. No tongue involved, just a soft, gentle, long kiss that makes you feel like your soul is being revitalized. When I think back on that kiss, I still get butterflies.

By Zou Meng on Unsplash

It's been a 11 years. Our date nights are usually at home now, along with our son, who is the product of infinite love and friendship. But every once and a while, Trace will come home with that wine glass, just for fun. We'll sit and drink it together with no words, just listen to calming music and the sounds of nearby traffic. If I had it my way, I would've wanted to tell Andy from Pretty in Pink that Ducky would've been a good choice. Not everyone get's a chance to be with their best friend for the rest of their life; but if you do get a chance, take it.

satire
1

About the Creator

Megan Miller

My name is Megan and I'm looking to connect with the world. I want to share my stories of life, love, and struggles so that maybe other people can be reminded that we all have a story to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.