Families logo

The Apple Doesn't Fall Far From the Tree

Like Father Like Daughter

By Haden M.Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by lauren lulu taylor on Unsplash

Growing up, kids are often embarrassed of their parents. As they get older and enter those teen years, they rebel a little bit and feel as though they cannot relate to their parents at all.

As a teen, I didn't have much of a rebellious phase, but I did do everything I could to separate myself from my parents. Both of my parents were teachers, so you can imagine how hard it was for me to be seen as only me instead of as my father's daughter.

Other teachers and even older students who had my dad as a teacher would tell me how much I was like my dad. Like many kids though, I wanted nothing to do with it. My dad was embarrassing and older, and I saw myself as this cool teen.

However, as I get older, I come to appreciate those comparisons so much more. I have also come to the conclusion that people truly do grow to be just like their parents.

Every year I reflect on my personality, and every year I can see the similarities to my dad more and more. Some of these traits we share are not even obvious ones that I could have picked up.

For instance, my parents got divorced a couple of years back, and I recently found a folder of some of my father's writings. He used to write poems for my mom to express his emotions because he was awful at speaking. Growing up, I loved writing, and I still do.

I, like my dad, am awful at expressing my emotions and feelings, so I also tend to write letters addressed to no one or write my feelings down, almost like a journal. I found several letters my dad wrote in the folder also addressed to no one.

They held his feelings towards us as his kids and his feelings for my mom, and they held his feelings towards life. All of his stresses and emotions were written in these letters, and I realized, despite not knowing how he copes with things, I somehow possessed the same method of dealing with my feelings.

My dad is extremely impulsive as well, which is a trait I definitely possess. I am in constant need of change, and I grow anxious if I don't get it.

Sometimes that change is as simple as redecorating or rearranging. Sometimes it is a new hair color or cut. Sometimes it is going on a day trip to a random place. Sometimes it is picking up a new hobby like gardening or cooking.

My father was constantly changing things around us growing up, and I always appreciated the constant change in scenery. We moved many times until we finally settled down in a small town in the middle of nowhere. My dad was a teacher and every summer he had a different project going on.

One summer, he built us a deck and a pool in our backyard. Another summer, he built me my own personalized room (even built the walls) in our attic, and yes, I was the favorite child. A different summer, he cut a hole in the ceiling above the living room to create a catwalk type bridge overlooking the first floor which looked nice. However, the next summer, he rebuilt the ceiling and filled in the hole.

He was constantly changing things and picking up hobbies because, like me, he needed constant change and things to do.

There are many other traits I share with him as well, and I have realized upon seeing these traits that I am my dad. People are in constant fear of becoming their parents. However, it is inevitable at this point.

No one can avoid it, and as we grow older, we will begin to understand our parents more. I am pretty proud to say that I am becoming my father, though. If I could be anyone, I would definitely choose to be him.

He has his flaws like everyone else, but he is spontaneous, fun, independent, extremely intelligent, and he is always thinking and finding answers for himself. While not everyone is as blessed with great parents, it is possible that becoming our parents isn't a negative. I definitely have more of an appreciation and understanding of my dad now.

The apple doesn't fall far from the tree, and maybe that is not so bad.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.