Families logo

Thank You Mom

You aren't just my mom, but you are also my very best friend.

By Nadia CoverPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Mom,

There is no amount of words that I can ever say that will be able to help me express how truly thankful I am to have you not only as my Mother, but as my very best friend as well.

We’ve had our fair share of battles in this crazy ride called life, but all those battles have brought us closer and closer each and every time. But I feel as if I need to explain to not only just you, but to everyone, why I am thanking you really.

You are by far the strongest person I know in this world. You are my motivator to keep pushing forward and to never look back in life. You had a rough start with me and our little family in the beginning, but you took that situation and built from it and look at you now living the life you’ve always imagined and found the man of your dreams. You motivate me to find someone just like that who makes me just as happy as you are.

We’ve always been so close from the very start because it’s been you and I since I really can remember; you’ve never left my side or made me think differently. Growing up and becoming a young teen, I never really saw the advantage of having a mom who cared as much as you did and wanted to be so close with me, until I started growing up and maturing a lot more. Now being 18 years old and living at college three hours away from you, I miss you more than ever and I’m not used to not seeing you every day, which kills me.

You support me in everything I do and push me to go above and beyond my limits, which is amazing. You never missed a cheer competition and were always my biggest fan.

You’ve taught me many important lessons in life that before I never thought I would remember or use, but surprisingly I use them more than ever; from knowing what I want in a relationship and being okay to walk away when it’s not what I want, to knowing that it’s not selfish to make sure that my needs are met before I think about being with someone. That standing out is better than blending in, that if I’m not happy with something I have ever power in the world to change it, to be confident in who I am, love who I am, and most importantly love like crazy, and hold nothing back because this is the only life we have so we have to make the best of it no matter what. So, I thank you for those life lessons because it has helped to shape me into the person I am today, and I wouldn’t be where I am now if it wasn’t for you pushing me and teaching me everything about this journey of life.

I’m sitting here right now, actually crying while writing this, because this is one of the most emotional letters I have written. I thank God everyday how close we are and how I can tell you anything. You are my best friend and you will always be my best friend. You are the person I call first when I have to share exciting news, the person I go to when I need a snap back to reality, and the person I go to when I need a pick-me-up. Again, thank you for everything you have done, are doing, and will do for me Mom. I love you beyond words.

Sincerely,

Your daughter

parents
Like

About the Creator

Nadia Cover

Hello! My name is Nadia Cover and I'm majoring in Elementary Education at Iowa State. Honest thing about me is if I'm not blogging then I'm eating a ton of food!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.