Families logo

Thank You For Being In My Life

What I am thankful for...

By Ada ZubaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

It is that time of year for the united states, the thanksgiving wreaths are brought from the attic, the smell of pumpkin pie baking in the oven, the parades are starting to come together, and lastly, the family would usually gather around and share a turkey. However, this year's thanksgiving looks a little bit different. Hopefully, people will be smart about spending thanksgiving together. Anyways, with thanksgiving around the corner, it got me thinking about what I am thankful for. 2020 has been a struggle for all of us, some of us lost jobs, some lost the opportunity to travel. For others, 2020 was a challenge. A lot of us encountered challenges, which we have never faced before due to the pandemic. Despite the challenges and hardships I still have something to be thankful for. I am thankful for my family, I know this sounds like a cliché but it is true. Together we have been through a lot, we traveled together to many places. We took a road trip to California, we visited museums and explored beaches and new cities. One of my favorite pictures that I kept with me all this time is one, where I am with my sisters, they are both in colorful bathing suits and there's me wearing a pink tee-shirt that read California and there were palm trees printed on it and I am wearing red shorts. I don't remember why I did not have my swimsuit, but for some reason, I did not bring it with me to the beach. Even though it was clear we were having a beach day. We all have a smile on our faces and we are playing in the waves. It is my favorite memory of my family, my dad was taking pictures of us, my mom was watching us from the sidelines, but smiling at us as she suntanned. We would rush to the sand from the water and eat salty chips. We traveled to Europe together and for the first time in my life, I saw amazing cathedrals and salt mines. We went to Hawaii together before my oldest sister got married. Aside from the great trips, we took together my family was always there for me.

Recently, I got out of a relationship, it was a hard thing for me to do as I had to give back a very pretty engagement ring. It was not an easy decision, my family kept telling me "No matter what you decide we are here for you". Just knowing that made it easier. I mulled over it for weeks and weeks at a time, but I saw my future and I could not see myself being happy. I had to change the story and I did. Without my family, I don't think I would have made the right decision, they made me realize that I want to be with someone who wants to have children as much as I do, who wants to be outside as much as I do, who wants to spend time with my siblings and become part of my family. I was able to talk to my sisters about the struggles that happened constantly and I was able to open up to my parents about my relationship and why I made the decision. No one judged me, and everyone agreed with me that I had done the right thing. Now, I became stronger and smarter as Kelly Clarkson sings "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger" and I believe that wholeheartedly.

My family were the people that told me to go to university and get a degree in anything I want. I earned an English degree as they helped me study and get through the hard parts. On days that I did not want to go to class or school, they encouraged me to go. In 2018, I finally did earn that degree and I have been prouder of myself. Later, I decided to go back to school and earn my hospital unit clerk certificate and I never thought I could do it because I had to learn medical terminology and I had failed biology in high school. However, in January of this year, I completed the course. My sister spent days flipping through flashcards over and over again until it was all in my head, my mom also helped me study the new words I struggled with the most. My oldest sister inspired me to become better and we were able to have conversations about her research, which made more sense to me. My dad never gave up on me, even when I wanted to, he kept encouraging me to learn to the best of my abilities.

However, it was difficult to get any job now and my parents let me live with them and not pay rent as some parents expect their children to. I have a job now, but no one knows what is going to happen with the pandemic, but one thing I know for sure is that I can count on my family to help me with any hardship I may have to face in the future. My parents had sacrificed a lot to get to where I am. They left their home country and started a new life in Canada when they had next to nothing and for that, I will be forever grateful for them. Yes, I am thankful to have such a loving and supportive family. It may be typical, but I would not be the person that I am today.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.