Families logo

Teething : Products that I found soothed my babies gums

Teething : A First Time Mother's Guide

By Christie CoullPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Lily

TEETHING. I remember I was so excited for my daughter to get her teeth, to see her go from a gummy wee baby to a little vampire! The first 2 bottom teeth came through and it was a breeze, she didn't give any signs of distress or pain. Phew. Boy were we glad! " This is going to be a breeze if she's this good now!"

Then the day came where another 2 teeth were emerging, and my partner and I were not as ready as we thought we were! Panic stations, going through the "checklist", like many parents I'm sure. Nothing was soothing her, she was screaming at night, crying and clearly in a lot of pain.

We tried Nuby teething keys that were kept in the freezer for a bit, Baby Bonjela, Calpol (Baby Paracetamol), tried massaging her gums but that mouth was shut tight! During the day she was great, but we were struggling so much at night getting her to sleep without disruption. What on earth were we going to do? It was breaking my heart hearing her cry with such pain in her little voice. I shed a few tears, well many tears. As a first-time mum I felt wave after wave of thinking I cannot do this, why can’t I help my baby?

We decided we needed help; the pharmacist was our best option in regard to quickness. They told me to do all the things I had already done which was a bit disheartening because I did not know what else to do! We then discovered the magic that is baby teething powder! When I say it saved us, I mean it saved us all! We manage to get the powder on our daughters’ tongue, let it dissolve and after 10 minutes she was back to her normal self. We could not believe the effectiveness of the magical powder! She finally managed more milk from her bottle, some food and thankfully a full night’s sleep.

Since discovering “Ashton & Parsons Infant Teething Powder” we have not looked back! We now own about 10 teething rings/toys and the powder is ready and waiting for the next little toothy to appear! We spent about £50 in total for all the products bought and in the end something for £5 saved us.

Ashton & Parsons Infant Teething Powder can be bought on Amazon.com!

£5 From Boots UK

OTHER PRODUCTS WE USED AND DID FIND USEFUL AT SOME POINT

ANGELBLISS – BABY TEETHING TOY SET

This cute set can be found on Amazon for £11.99.

They can be put in the fridge but are made from silicone making them extra fun and safe for babies to chew on.

NUBY – ICE BITE KEYS TEETHER

They can be bought on Amazon too or if you’re in the UK, we bought our from Sainsburys. They are £4.40

These can be kept I the freezer to get them really cold but NOT to be left in the freezer as they get really hard…we learnt the hard way!

BABY BONJELA - SOOTHING TEETHING GEL

Just a small drop on your pinky finger and you can try to rub it onto your babies inflamed games. This wasn’t as effective for us but it just might work for you! Worth a try eh? It is only around £4

CALPOL – SUGAR FREE INFANT PARACETEMOL

£2.88 (Amazon bought)

This is good to have in the house anyway if your baby gets a temperature. Our little girl had a viral infection while teething too so that didn’t help the situation, but this kept it down. Comes with a little syringe to help you measure it out and dispense it into their mouth. This was tough to give to my little one as she shut up shop and we had to wait till she cried to get it in, a little bit at a time. I think I was more traumatised than she was!

product review
Like

About the Creator

Christie Coull

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.